Restore seems OK, but I can't boot on the new disk.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Jonaswal, Mar 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jonaswal

    Jonaswal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I made a system backup of a Vista Home Premium disk.

    I tred to restore it, from the .tib file on a USB HDD, to the new HDD I put in the laptop.

    Everything seem to work, it says "operation successful" at the end, but then, when I try to boot on the new hdd, there's just a blinking "-", and nothing happens.

    Did I miss something ?

    Yes, I asked the software to put the MBR on the new disk.

    Could someone help me ?

    Thank you ! (sorry for my poor english)
     
  2. Jonaswal

    Jonaswal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Damn, I can't believe I bought a licence for somethig that doesn't work :thumbd:
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    We need some additional information in order to try and help.

    1. What type and brand of computer are you using?

    2. What version and build of True Image are you using. (Help/About has that.)

    3. Did you try to to a Repair with a Windows Vista DVD or Anytime Upgrade DVD?

    4. When you made the backup, did you make a Computer/Partition backup (not a File and Folder backup)?

    5. Did you select the entire hard drive and not just the C partition?
     
  4. Jonaswal

    Jonaswal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    It's a SONY VAIO VGN-FZ21M

    Acronis True Image 2009. I bought it last week, so it's a pretty new one

    No, I didn't try a repair. The PC doesn't come with a Windows DVD, but with restore DVDs, which don't repair, but only reinstall factory style...

    Yes I did the computer/system backup. In fact, ATI automatically propose it to you when you install it.

    I select the entire hard drive.



    In fact, I'm pretty sure I did everything correctly, I've been working in computers and networks for years. Last night I made a HD Clone copy, and that works perfectly, but hey, I don't want to pay 50$ for something that doesn't protect me of a disk crash !


    Has anyone here already got a working restore of a Vista system backup without doing a repair after ?

    Thanks for your help !

    Jonas
     
  5. Jonaswal

    Jonaswal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    again, sorry for my poor english... :(
     
  6. Rykks

    Rykks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Are the two drives the same size/capacity? If not, try again but without the MBR/Trk 0. I had this problem doing a restore of a backup Linux image of a 40Gb drive onto a 160Gb drive. The "clone" couldn't find its kernel without going through a lot of work booting to a bootdisk, etc. I found that if I restored the 40Gb image onto the 160Gb drive (making sure to expand the third partition to take up all remaining space) by selecting the partitions one at a time and leaving out the MBR, it worked fine.

    If you're doing Windows, a single partition, make sure to expand the partition on the target drive to take up the whole disk if the target is larger. It might be that not doing that - in addition to leaving a second, unallocated partition on the target - might be causing the boot problem, as well.

    If they are the same size, then just try not copying over the MBR.

    Rick
     
  7. Rykks

    Rykks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Oh yeah - and tell it NOT to assign a drive letter if asked....
     
  8. Engywuck

    Engywuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I had pretty much the same problem. In my case it was WinXP and a desktop, but I did the same restore: From a USB HDD on the harddisk. Restore successfull, but when I tried to boot, I only got a blinking cursor.
    The interesting part: I found a simple solution. Before booting I had to detach the USB drive. Booting now XP booted quite nomally. Subsequent boots did work even with the USB HDD attached.
    I repeated the procedure, with the same result: The first boot had to be done without USB HDD, then it works.

    Does this do the trick for you?

    Greetings,
    Thorsten
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.