Restore process hangs in Acronis True Image 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Kuysao, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kuysao

    Kuysao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    My computer has 2 SATA HDDs: a Samsung hdd (which is divided into 2 logic drives: C and D) and a Maxtor one (which is assigned as G drive) My ATI version is 11.8053.
    I have successfully created the backup image and located it in the Acronis Secure Zone (which is created in the drive G).
    The weird thing happened when i tried to restore my partition. After booting into the Acronis environment (by pressing F11), I chose 'backup and restore', then a window appeared requiring me to locate the image. However, Acronis just hung at this moment. There was a hourglass appearing whenever i moved my mouse to the directory tree in the left hand side. But the tree just empty and i could do nothing.
    Could someone help me? Thanks a lot!
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    How long did you wait for the drives to be displayed? Try up to 15 minutes. Are you running XP Pro?

    There is an odd problem that might be causing this delay which can be fixed with a Windows Service setting. Disable the "Distributed Link Tracking Client" service in msconfig under the Services tab. This service is not listed in alphabetical order on my system, so scroll down the list until you see it. You can set it to Manual or Disable it. It won't have any effect unless you are on a large corporate network with Domain Controllers. It is disabled in XP Home, but enabled in XP Pro.

    You might also want to try updating to the new build of TI 11, 8101. This has fixed some problems for some users. You need to register your TI 11 on the Acronis web site, and then you can download the update. There are at least two threads on the forum about the new version and options for installing it.
     
  3. Kuysao

    Kuysao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Thank you for your answer!
    Waiting is exactly the correct answer. I've tried to wait for it about 12 minutes and the path leading to the image finally came up.
    But even when my problem is solved, i still find strange that why an excellent program like Acronis True Image could have a bug like this? You can definitely eliminate this long time waiting bug, cannot you?
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Yes, click the Windows Start button on the scree.
    In the Run box, type msconfig and press OK.
    In msconfig, click the Processes tab.
    Scroll down until you see the Distributed Link Tracking Client. (If you don't see the service, be sure that the box for Hide Microsoft services is not checked.)
    Uncheck the box next to Distributed Link Tracking Client.
    Exit msconfig and reboot.

    Now try TI again and see if the drives don't appear in a few seconds.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Kuysao,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    We recommend you to use the latest build (8101) of Acronis True Image 11 Home, as suggested by jmk94903. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If the latest build doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also try disconnecting or disabling in BIOS optional devices (such as card readers, USB hubs), and see if that solves the problem.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report, Windows system information and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.