Restore Process - Bigger HDD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ldejager, Jan 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ldejager

    ldejager Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hi there,

    We have been using Acronis True Image Enterprise Server for about three months now. We are currently running it on a Windows 2000 server at our datacentre and the server on which the software is installed is running out of disk space. For this we have purchased two new drives (146GB SCSI U320) which will be installed in a RAID 1 configuration.

    The current setup is as follows; 2 x 73GB SCSI U320 disks in RAID 1, one drive (C:\) and it's 63GB in size. What would I need to do once the new disks are installed? Should they be formatted in NTFS first before restoring the image? Will the new drives space show correctly even if the image i'm restoring is only 60GB in size?

    Any pointers much appreciated

    thanks
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ldejager,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Remote Server Backup Software.

    Please be aware that in order to migrate your Windows system to different hardware, you should first prepare Windows using Microsoft System Preparation Tool (sysprep). Please read this FAQ article.

    No, when Acronis True Image restores an image, it formats the partition first and then restores the file system which you backed up.

    Please note that if you restore an image archive of the entire hard disk including the master boot record (MBR), then you cannot resize the partitions. There are two possible workarounds, if you need to restore the partitions with resizing while the MBR is also restored.

    - Restore the entire hard disk without resizing and then restore each of the partitions separately setting the proper size for it and overwriting the previously restored one.

    - Restore the partitions separately resizing them and then fix the MBR manually by booting the computer from Windows 2000 Installation CD and run "fixmbr" command in Recovery Console.

    If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  3. ldejager

    ldejager Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hi again,

    Hi restored the whole disk I backed up onto the new bigger disk, but as I feared the unused space is not showing. How does one actually resize the image from the restore window? I checked and couldn't see an option for that. Do you have to resize it when booting from the CD or if your in Windows?

    Thanks again
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ldejager,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to change partition size and configuration during the image restoration process in section 6.7 of Acronis True Image 8.0 Enterprise Server for Windows User's Guide.

    Please be aware that Acronis True Image 8.0 Enterprise Server for Windows does not allow you to change partition size and configuration once it has already been restored from the image archive. You should use special partition and disk management software such as Acronis Disk Director Server 10.0 for such purposes.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.