Restore older version?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Birck, Jun 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Birck

    Birck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    If I install a trial of V11 over v10 and don't like v11 can I restore v10 without problems?

    Or better yet can I install v11 trial in a different folder and use both temporarily and then delete the one I prefer?

    Thanks-
    Ted--
     
  2. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Not a good idea. This is a complex application and taking shortcuts is a recipe for disaster. There are many folders where Acronis files are stored as well as numerous Registry entries and services that are running.

    Your best chance for success would be to uninstall version 10 and then install version 11. If you decide that you want to go back to v. 10 uninstall v.11 and then install v.10, re-booting as necessary.

    This may help also. I can't say thay it will remove everything but it should help.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1236031&postcount=12
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2008
  3. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    You already have Acronis 10 I assume ?

    so how about using the acronis emergency cd - make a system image.
    Then uninstall Acronis 10 and install Acronis 11. If you feel that 11 is no good then use the Acronis 10 CD to restore your old image.
     
  4. Birck

    Birck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks for the help to both of U. The backup restore route is intriguing. However, I am reluctant to risk the unlikely event of a restore not working.
    (Nothing personal to Acronis. I guess I'm just a bit paranoid.)
    Ted--
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Not a good idea, not knowing if restoring your backup will work or not. For peace of mind, invest in a spare hard drive and restore the backup to it.
     
  6. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    The suggestion to create a backup image was a good one. Wouldn’t hurt to do it anyway in that it gives you another option for a restore before experimenting if needed. If that turns out to be unnecessary you can simply delete the image .tib file.
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Better to find out now when there is no crisis than to find out when you really need the restore capability. As DwnNdrty suggested, get yourself another drive and test it. You do really need to do some testing and any testing is better than no testing. Have you validated your archives and have you tried mounting and copying some of the files from the archive back to your regular hard drive. Get prepared now before the crisis arrives.
     
  8. Birck

    Birck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks! Windows is on C:, but I already have a second large hard drive G: that contains only backups.

    This is likely a stupid question, but if I move the backups temporarily to C: could I do a test by doing a restore from C: to G:?

    Ted--
     
  9. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Sure, as long as there is enough room on C to hold everything that is on G. The restore process will wipe out everything on G. And just to be safer, you should do the restore using the bootable True Image Rescue cd.
     
  10. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    This is definitely a very good thing to do, but you can immediately do an important test.

    Boot from your current TI Recovery CD and validate a couple of the images on your second drive. Repeat this with the TI 11 Recovery CD after you have made that.

    If the images won't validate after booting from the CD, they won't restore when you need them. If they do validate, there's a very high probability that they will restore properly, but only a test restore will prove it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.