Restore Image from DVD-R

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tech001, Dec 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tech001

    tech001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    I've used Acronis for many years.

    The company I work for just bought several copies for use on some computers.

    I am trying to do a test backup/recovery using DVD-R media.

    Made a FULL backup image on 1 dvd. When booting from the bootable cd, it asks where the .tib file is. I insert DVD, but it cannot find file on same drive OR on ext. USB DVD/RW drive.

    I also made TWO backup DVD's which contained the auto bootloader or whatever you call it. One was "express" 1-click, with the image burned on the DVD, the other I tried the "full" bootable version.

    HOW on earth is this supposed to work? These are FRESHLY burned discs. All I want to do is recover from a backup. What the heck am I doing wrong here. I've never had this kind of trouble w/Acronis. Is there now some unwritten rule that you MUST backup to another hard drive?
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    If there is an unwritten rule it is that backing up directly to optical media is a waste of time especially when large hard drives, internal or external, can be relatively cheap. If you want to put the backup image on optical media, use what has been referred to in the forum as the 2-step method i.e. save the image to a hard drive in dvd sized chunks then burn those pieces to dvd using your favorite burning software like Nero or Roxio.
     
  3. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Agree fully with Ralphie. Are you able to copy the .tib from the DVD to a partition or harddrive ? If not then the direct burning process might have failed ? If you are able to copy to a partition or hard drive are you then able to restore from there ? By the way even if you can restore direct from DVD you may well find the total time taken is less if you copy the image to a partition and then restore. For this reason I always have a dedicated partition for 3 full system images - allowing quick system restore - and only use DVD for off site archival.
     
  4. tech001

    tech001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Sure, I can copy the .tib file to a hard disk.

    All I really want to know is, can Acronis' boot cd NOT read the thing? That seems extremely stupid.

    Feels like I'm going to lose my mind here.

    There was an ext. HDD around here somewhere, and we've used that flawlessly.

    The story is this: I want to install Vista (beta2) here at work to show my co-workers. We opened up a brand new computer for testing. I got it all setup, joined to the domain, installed anti-virus, etc... figuring, it'd be easy to make a quick image using Acronis (version 9).

    I am NOT liking this answer that their own freaking boot cd just CANNOT read a freaking DVD that it just burned! This is a BRAND NEW burn, and does not have any issues, I even verified it because I was bored.

    Rhalphie - "save the image to a hard drive in dvd sized chunks then burn those pieces to dvd using your favorite burning software like Nero or Roxio." ....um then what exactly, I have iso burned dvd's of ".tib" files that WILL work when using the bootable cdo_O? IF so, that'd be great I guess, but it still seems like a completely STUPID thing for Acronis NOT to be able to read its own freshly burned media........


    btw, I'm really just very frustrated by all of this, as I've always thought Acronis to be the best imaging software out there for ease of use.

    Also, THANK YOU very kindly for responding to my post so quickly and politely!
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    You don't say what version you are using but if it is V9 make sure the build is the latest or at least 3677. When direct DVD writing was introduced somewhere around 3625 (I may have build number wrong) it looked like it created the archive but none could be found on restore.

    Having said that, I also am a proponent of using HDs for backups and only burning a copy of an archive to DVD with Nero, Roxio or whatever for second or third level backup.
     
  6. tech001

    tech001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    yes, sorry, version 9, build (-edit) 3633.

    "it looked like it created the archive but none could be found on restore."

    ...yes, that pretty much sums up my gripes/frustrations with this. NEVER had a problem before... but I don't recall if whatever previous version I had used had done an image build, then burn... probably. ...And that would of course explain why I didn't have issues before.

    Again, seriously, thank you folks for the very quick and polite responses here, I'm calming down a little bit :)
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    TI V9 does not support Vista. Some have used the boot CD to make images with varying degree of success but I don't think it was smooth sailing for everyone.
     
  8. tech001

    tech001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    oh no no no... I'm not even going to try using it on Vista!

    ...I meant, that I am backing up a brand new computer out of the box with XP Pro, anti-virus, etc. so that I can do a FRESH install of Vista to play around with, and THEN restore the XP Pro image at a later date... sorry 'bout that confusion.

    Right now, I am about to begin burning a regular .iso DVD of the .tib file...
    From what Ralphie posted (the '2 step method') this will worko_O

    I do NOT wish to re-partition this drive just to have a recovery partition hiding on it. When I go to install Vista, I want the FULL drive capacity there, and other reasons... I can certainly see the advantages, but do not wish to proceed with that on this computer. I want it to be a testing machine, with no extra partitions.

    Going to burn here after a reboot, and then try booting from the bootable cd, and reading the '.tib' file...

    Still makes NO sense whatsoever to have an all in one bootable DVD that loads the recovery portion, but can't see it's own freaking image... that really just baffles me. Why even include such a feature?
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I just ran several test on my ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi computer and I got the same results. The dvd backup burns correctly. I can see the file in windows and it verifies okay, but when booted into the BartPE cd it will not read the contents of the dvd (not even from a usb dvd drive). It will read a cd backup, though.

    Just for kicks, I booted another computer off the TI 10 rescue cd and stuck the dvd in and it saw the .tib file immediately and verified it.

    For some reason, some computers have a problem reading dvds. It's not just TI as the file explorer in the BartPE cd also can't see any files on the dvd. It just seems strange that it can burn okay, but then can't see what it burned.
     
  10. tech001

    tech001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    burned the .tib file via roxio. Pretty sure it burned in standard iso9660 format.

    Surprise surprise, booted from the cd, and Acronis can now "see" the image file just fine.

    Seems that the DVD's burned by Acronis (version 9) are UDF of some sort, which would explain why they aren't visible....

    Still, this has to be the STUPIDEST thing I've EVER seen...

    Guess I learned my lesson.

    Thank you to all who responded. I also very much appreciate the quickness!

    Have a wonderful night/day!
     
  11. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello tech001,

    This is a known problem with Build 3633. See Post #1 as modified by my update at Post #16 in this previous thread titled <TI 9.0 Home Build 3633 - Imaging Direct to DVD>. You need to update to either Build 3677 or 3854 to overcome this issue although, for me, 3854 has presented another problem (<Testing of v9 Build 3854>).

    Regards
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I did some more searching and found out that my BartPE didn't have UDF support installed. As a result no UDF dvds could be read and TI couldn't find the backups it burned. I found a plugin on the BartPE support forum dated from 2003 and added it to my list of plugins. I burned another BartPE cd and now the dvd backups can be seen by TI and verified.

    What seems strange to me is that UDF support isn't installed by default (unless something wierd happened with my particular system). Also the following is posted on the BartPE site home page:

    Okt 2, 2006
    New version of PEBuilder is under development (Profiles, UDF support). We are also working on a complete new version of the Nu2 website.


    Does this mean that they really haven't added UDF support yet? How come TI can burn a UDF file directly, apparently without XP driver support, and then not be able to read it back directly?

    Is there possibly a difference with this if using the Acronis plugins instead of mustang's? I have only used mustang's.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.