Restore error

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Cushie, Aug 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cushie

    Cushie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    'The selected file is not an Acronis*True*Image*Home archive or the file is corrupted. Please, select another file'

    I made a complete disk backup including 'Verify' with a file size of 36GBt. When trying to do a slow reformat of the hard drive it would would not complete. So I installed a new sata drive.

    I wanted to restore my original backup I received the above message.
    Since I have had to reinstall the whole OS but would like to regain some of my documents and settings. Is it possible to access to my backup file (using XP or Linux).
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What version and build of TI are you using?

    Did you do the backup and verify from Windows or from the TI CD?

    Is the backup image on an internal or external hard drive?

    ---

    To access files from the image, you should install TI in Windows and then Mount or Explore the image. This will allow you to copy out any files you need (at least those not in the corrupted area).
     
  3. Cushie

    Cushie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Version 10 on XP pro.
    The original was made by booting from the CD (but I now believe that may not have been necessary, please confirm).

    My backups were made to a Seagate external USB drive. My restore was not to the original Sata drive but to a brand new Sata drive.

    I would appreciate any guidance on hacking into the .tib file which Acronis does not now recognise.

    I hope that helps.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Cushie,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please notice that it is possible that the archive is being declared corrupt because of faulty data transfers. Please run a memory diagnostics such a Memtest86+ available free from www.memtest.org for a several hours. There should be no errors reported. Please also run Windows chkdsk utility with parameter "/r" on the hard drive the archive is stored at.
    If there are no errors with memory/hard drive reported, please try copying/moving the archive to another location, and validating it again. Please also try using Acronis Bootable Rescue Media to validate the archive.

    Please also notice that, as pointed by MudCrab, you can usually copy some of the data from a partially corrupt archive by mounting/exploring it.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.