Restoration of Image File

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Da Mail Man, Sep 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    greetings all,

    it have been a very long time since i have been here. ok, here's my question;

    ....running win xp pro, 1.8ghz processor, 500gbs ram 40gb hd.,, acronis true image 9.0....

    ....my friend has the above configured computer and no dvd burner, just a
    cd-rw drive/dvd combo (dvd reader).....experimenting with his setup, i have created a complete hard drive image to a file....

    ...can i simply copy this image to a flash drive and onto my computer and then, burn that very same image to a dvd+r disc and if so, will that work to restore his computer if need be? will the image i made and eventually copied to dvd be bootable should there be a catastrophic hard drive crash?

    ...having not screwed around with this program for a very long time, isn't there a copy of acronis burned to the image so that if the hard drive was replaced, the computer would "recognize" it?....

    ***edited;
    i should have read a bit more closely!...i need to make some rescue media and not having a dvd burner in the computer makes it difficult!...can i burn/create some sort of an image to burn to a file and then, do the same as above?.the more i think about this, the more complicated it becomes!
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2008
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The rescue media cd can be created on a cd burner.

    While it is possible to burn the Image using your dvd burner (will the size of it fit on one dvd disc?) when it comes time to restore it to your friend's computer you may have to transfer it back to either the flash drive or to an external hard drive. But if the Image is on one dvd disc, this may also work for the restore.
     
  3. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    *********************************************

    ...thanks for the reply....yes, the size WILL fit on one disc....i have been thinking about this for a bit and think it will be better to locate a $hit hard drive and put it in the computer and go from there....

    ...what bugs me a bit is, if i burn image to a dvd disc, insert it into a screwed up hd, it probably wouldn't be bootable as there is no program (acronis) associated with it (assuming that the hd is messed up or virtually inaccessible of sorts)....

    ....if i burned a back up image to an internal and secondary hard drive, HOW would i restore it to the primary hard drive assuming acronis is messed up on the primary?........would i have to create the rescue discs on cd rom and boot into them, then, locate the image and restore from there?.......thanks again!
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Perhaps my guides can help you to understand TI somewhat more. Check line 2 of my signature below.
     
  5. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    i'll give it a shot!.....thanks!
     
  6. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    .....ok....ran into another problem (it's always this guys' computer and not mine, ugh!).....

    ....i have attached a small hd and have copied the ful system back up image to it, no sweat...(about 3gigs+/-)

    ....HOWEVER, when i attempt to burn the rescue media disc(s), i get a burning error or similar!.....i have tried 3 new cd-r's and i get the same error......what did i miss here?....(also have nero installed should that make any difference!)......thanks!
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Nero alone shouldn't be a prob but progs that thry to take over the optical disk drive (like InCD) will conflict with ATI buring CD/dvds. Closign them while running ATI should be sufficient.
     
  8. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    (o_O).....just have nero instaled and nothing else....w/out the capability of burning rescue media, acronis for me is useless....
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I believe your post #6 is saying you are having trouble creating a backup when burning direct to CD or DVD. if my assumption is correct, then create the backup onto an external or even drive C. Use archive splitting so the file will be create iin the correct media size. After creation of the archivek, then you can use Nero to burn the data file to CD or DVD.

    On the other hand, if you are having trouble making the bootable Rescue CD, then check this link for alternate means of creation.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=188253
     
  10. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    *******************************

    1....i have installed an additional small hard drive.

    2....i have burned/copied the back up of the primary hard drive to the small hard drive.

    3...i have attempted to burn "rescue" media to a cd rom and it is failing

    4...my current dillema is that, w/out being able to burn the rescure media, if the primary hard drive becomes corrupted, i'll never be able to restore the inmage i had already made!

    5...it is unknown why i cannot make the rescure media and burn to cd rom....

    6. i am sure that the rescue "program" will NOT exceed 650mb's
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2008
  11. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The files on the True Image Rescue cd are about 20mb.
    Did you try leaving the cd tray open with the blank in it and letting the process of creating the Rescue cd close it?
    Besides InCd, another known problem for True Image is GoBack - not sure whether this also affects the making of the Rescue cd.
     
  12. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    The files on the True Image Rescue cd are about 20mb.
    **i am far below that

    Did you try leaving the cd tray open with the blank in it and letting the process of creating the Rescue cd close it?
    **no, but, will try that momentarily...

    Besides InCd,
    **...n/a

    another known problem for True Image is GoBack
    **...n/a

    - not sure whether this also affects the making of the Rescue cd.
     
  13. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Did you try leaving the cd tray open with the blank in it and letting the process of creating the Rescue cd close it?
    **no, but, will try that momentarily...


    RESULTS;

    ...no good - says;.... "error burning the cd-r/cr-rw" and kicks out the tray....
     
  14. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    You could create an ISO file with the Media Builder program and then user Nero to burn the ISO (as a CD image) to a CD.
     
  15. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    ...thanks for the reply...still, i have to find out why this is happening...hey, if i were to install acronis on my other computer, could i attempt to burn the disc using that computer and then, uninstall the program?..would the rescue disc still work and retrieve/utilize the backup i previously made?
     
  16. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    ...question;

    is the rescue disc made the same on most all computers or is there something that is placed on the disc when you make it that makes it proprietary to that particular computer?
     
  17. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    The rescue CD created using a particular build of TI would be the same regardless of which computer creates it.
     
  18. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    ......excellent!.......i may have my problem solved for the mean time but, not the reason as to why th edisc won't burn in this particular computer.....will let ya all know a bit later......thanks again.....will advise!
     
  19. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Da Mail Man,

    Creating a backup directly to CD or DVD is not one of TrueImages strong points. Many have posted with the same problem of not being able to burn media while creating backups. Mosts of us regular posters suggest you put your energies toward creating a backup direct to another hard drive such as another internal or external or network drive. After you have the backup created via the archhive splitting option, you can then burn these media size files to the media of choice.


    Should you want to restore an archive which has been copied to Cd/DVD, you will need to copy the files from the removable media back onto some sort of hard drive. As you can see, this is a pain. Get yourself an external and create your backups onto that type drive.
     
  20. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Creating a backup directly to CD or DVD is not one of TrueImages strong points.
    ***i am finding that out fast!

    Many have posted with the same problem of not being able to burn media while creating backups. Mosts of us regular posters suggest you put your energies toward creating a backup direct to another hard drive
    ***i have already done that..my concerns are that if i need to restore teh hard drive, i will need "something" on a disc that i can boot into to recognize, activate, and restore the image to the primary hard drive.

    ..such as another internal or external or network drive.
    **see above - imaged placed onto an internal hard drive

    After you have the backup created via the archhive splitting option,
    ***i didn't have to split ANYTHING as the image was only about 3gb's

    you can then burn these media size files to the media of choice.
    ***the computer i am working with does NOT have a dvd burner, only a cd burner...what i am trying to do is burn the restore disc to give to him (my friend) should his computer take a dump..

    Should you want to restore an archive which has been copied to Cd/DVD, you will need to copy the files from the removable media back onto some sort of hard drive. As you can see, this is a pain. Get yourself an external and create your backups onto that type drive.
    ***i am going to install acronis to my other computer solely for the purpose of creating the rescue disc and then uninstall it and hope it works...as i understand it, according to a previous poster, this should work....
     
  21. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Since you intend to uninstall it from your system after making the Rescue CD, I suggest you create a Windows Restore point before installing True Image. Then after you uninstall TI the normal way via the Control Panel, run that Windows Restore point to be sure your Registry doesn't have items put there by TI that didn't get removed in the uninstall.

    You know how most programs don't clean up after themselves when they are uninstalled. :)
     
  22. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87

    ..ohhhh yeah!, i know
     
  23. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    .....well, problem apparently found.....the dvd-cd-rw drive in my friends computer is bad in that, it will not burn, erase, or otherwise write to any disc i put into it!..wtf!!?...

    ...well, anyway, i feel better.....so, with just the disc inage in the slave hard drive, if the primary hd takes a dump, how do i restore teh computer?..(i have not yet installed TI on my other computer to make a copy of the rescue media).....
     
  24. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Instead of creating a bootable Rescue CD, why not create a bootable FlashDrive which will enable you to boot into TrueImage and also store the 3G file on the same 4GB flashdrive. TI offers to create a bootable Flash Drive from the same screen that creates the bootable Rescue CD. Check line 4 of my signature below for more options.
     
  25. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87

    ..this guy doesn't have a flash drive nor is he literate at all with computers....like i said, will try and make rd's and see if they work...in the mean time, i am gonna hit the couch for a bit as my eyes and brain are fried from all this.....will pick this up in an hour or so.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.