Resizing while restoring partition, tibs on removable media -- does it work?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dgrrr, Aug 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dgrrr

    dgrrr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Posts:
    39
    I am told that when you resize a partition while restoring it from multiple removable media (optical discs), it just asks you to keep swapping discs in over and over and over, without ever actually lifting any data from teh discs.

    Is this true, or is there actually a limit to the number of times you have to swap disks back in and out, before it actually starts reading a significant amount of data from the discs?
     
  2. MerlinAZ

    MerlinAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    If you tell it to restore the partition and not the drive letter, it should give you the option to resize.
     
  3. dgrrr

    dgrrr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Posts:
    39
    pls read the above post
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dgrrr,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please be aware that while restoring a disk\partition image with resizing the partitions it will be necessary to swap the CD/DVD disks more times than without resizing.

    Our development team is working on optimization of this process at the moment.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ivan Sarychev
     
  5. dgrrr

    dgrrr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Posts:
    39
    My basic question is - If I had to swap disks at least 30 times before I gave up, is that normal?
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    It's not clear from your original post whether your question is hypothetical or you have actually tried it. If so, how many disks does your "whole disk" image span?

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.