resize a parition,for windows is a new drive why?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by mantra, Jun 19, 2015.

  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129
    Hi
    i have 2 data hard disk , i noticed that if i resize a data partition (off line a partition using a recovery cd) when i reboot for w7 or w8 is a new drive

    a pop up notify me that it found a new drive


    thanks
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,045
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...because the VOLUME size has changed since the last time Windows saw that VOLUME. It assumes, correctly, that it is a different disk.

    All is well...
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129
    hi
    thanks
    so if i resize a parition many times , for windows it's always a different disk
    where does windows it store such settings ??
    under device manager (show Hidden devices) , where can i find?
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,045
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I've never really looked for them. When the new one appears and the old one is no longer used, they don't seem to be retained anywhere. Windows relies on Discovery to tell it what it needs to know.
     
Loading...