rescue media problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by odyssey9, Nov 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. odyssey9

    odyssey9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I can't create a bootable rescue on USB flash memory with True Image Workstation 9.1. I consistently get: E00040004: The disk is full!
    Select a disk with more free space. I have now tried three USB flash sticks, using both FAT and FAST32 formatting. This is with Vista.
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  3. odyssey9

    odyssey9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    They are 4GB. I looked at the referenced post and ran the DISKPART procedure for setting up the flashdrive and got the same result when trying to create an Acronis bootable. I have not tried the Grub4DOS yet.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Are you using the latest build of TI WS 9.1? I've never really used it (just as a trial for a short time), but the Media Builder program may be having a problem with the size or type of flashdrive. If possible, can you try a smaller one, say 2GB or less?

    The Grub4DOS method shouldn't have any problems if you use the ISO booting method. The other method will require using Media Builder to copy the files to the flashdrive and you'll probably run into the same problem you're having now.
     
  5. odyssey9

    odyssey9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    It's build 3887, which I think is the last. I will try a smaller flashdrive.
     
  6. odyssey9

    odyssey9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I was able to create the bootable with Media Builder using a 2GB flashdrive, but got a missing operating system message when I tried to boot from it. I can't boot from a CD or DVD created with Media Builder either. With those, I get the Acronis Loader Fatal Error message. I think that the solution to that is to change the SATA setup to IDE, but I have not tested it. Overall, it's been a frustrating experience.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    odyssey9 could you please let us investigate this issue?

    Please create Acronis Report and sysinfo.txt files as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. To expedite the resolution we recommend you to use our Live Chat service after that. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.