Rescue disk wont scan anything?!

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by BuckoA51, Apr 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BuckoA51

    BuckoA51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    I'm trying to use the new ESET Sysrescue disk on a laptop. The laptop has two hard drive partitions c: and d: with a lot of files on.

    So I boot the rescue CD, choose "custom scan" tick both C: and D: even go into setup and select extensions and tick "scan all files"

    then I hit scan, ESET scans for 7 seconds then says "Scan completed sucessfully in 7 seconds"

    Number of scanned objects 0

    0?!

    What the heck?

    HELP!

    EDIT - Just tried same disc on another PC, with 2gb of memory, same problem! The scanner on the resue disk will not touch any files.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2009
  2. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Re: WTF? Rescue disk wont scan anything?!

    maybe you need to select all folders/subfolders? It sounds like you scanned only root on both partitions, or scan didn't trigger at all (0 files).
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Re: WTF? Rescue disk wont scan anything?!

    What platform, OS and service pack do you use?
     
  4. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Re: WTF? Rescue disk wont scan anything?!

    I have EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM.

    Not to Hijack the thread but I will also Answer Marco's question (as I did in the previous SYSResque post on AV subforum...the answer to Marcos question went unanswered by ESET there maybe I will have more luck here).

    So I stated in my previous post about this problem:
    I have SysRescue disk made from 4.x.417 version of ESET ANTIVIRUS:
    WIndows XP SP3 (patched up to last patch tuesday).

    Sys Rescue boots fine, ALL FILES ARE SELECTED, MAX SETTINGS SELECTED, ALL DRIVES are VISIBLE and SELECTED, The drives are Multi Terabyte Arrays, the scan completed in 40 seconds, I can see the folders being accessed and flown through via the Real Time ESET scanner aka C:\, c:\Program Files, c:\Secret Pron Stash etc. But at the end the number of files scanned is 0. :)

    YAY!!!
     
  5. BuckoA51

    BuckoA51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Re: WTF? Rescue disk wont scan anything?!

    Yes I double and triple checked that all files were selected, I can see the scanner going through the folders but it never scans any files.

    Windows XP Pro SP3
     
  6. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Re: WTF? Rescue disk wont scan anything?!

    Correct me if I'm mistaken, but isn't SysRescue more intended for Vista?

    I looked into the SysRescue bit. It said I needed to have Windows AIK installed. Clicked on the link they provided. Took me to a Microsoft download page:

    Automated Installation Kit (AIK) for Windows Vista SP1 and Windows Server 2008
    Brief Description
    The Windows Automated Installation Kit (Windows AIK) is designed to help corporate IT professionals customize and deploy the Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 family of operation systems.
    On This Page
    Quick DetailsOverviewSystem RequirementsInstructionsRelated ResourcesWhat Others Are Downloading

    Quick Details
    File Name: 6001.18000.080118-1840-kb3aikl_en.iso
    Version: 936330AIK
    Date Published: 4/9/2008
    Language: English
    Download Size: 1375.9 MB
    Estimated Download Time: 55 hr 55 min 56K Dial-up (56K)DSL/Cable (256K)DSL/Cable (768K)T1 (1.5M) 55 hr 55 min

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Change Language: ArabicChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional, Taiwan)CzechDanishDutchEnglishFinnishFrenchGermanGreekHebrewHungarianItalianJapaneseKoreanNorwegian (Bokmål)PolishPortuguese (Brazil)Portuguese (Portugal)RussianSpanishSwedishTurkish


    Overview
    The Windows Automated Installation Kit (Windows AIK) is designed to help corporate IT professionals customize and deploy the Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 family of operation systems. By using Windows AIK, you can perform unattended Windows installations, capture Windows images with ImageX, and create Windows PE images.

    This update is provided to you and licensed under the Windows Vista License Terms.
    Top of page

    System Requirements
    Supported Operating Systems: Windows Server 2008; Windows Vista


    Windows Vista

    Windows Vista Service Pack 1

    Windows Server 2008

    Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 1 with KB926044

    Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2

    Windows XP Service Pack 2 with KB926044




    I reckon it could be setup for Windows XP SP3 even though there is no mention of it in the System Requirements. May need some other KB's installed.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
     
  7. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
  8. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    The whole SysRescue aspect of ESS 4.0 is based on Vista. But, I'm sure that it could be used with XP IF Windows AIK is used during the PREINSTALLATION.



    Personally, I have no need for SysRescue. I was just curious about it.
     
  9. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372

    Hmm well in that case, it makes sense but sucks for me since my Vista system is using KAV and I don't feel like swapping.
     
  10. CrunchieBite

    CrunchieBite Guest

  11. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Hmmm well let's hope they fix it or post a note saying that RESCUE DISK IS FOR VISTA ONLY.

    Otherwise I can make a blank CD to scan my system and get the same result, but at least I will still have a CD that I can use for something else.
     
  12. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    So many bugs in a software...
    God.. how much more ridiculous can it get ? :rolleyes:
     
  13. trencan

    trencan Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    120
    SyRescue in not dedicated only to Vista. You can build it on XP too.

    WinPE OS which is used in SysRescue is based on Vista SP1.
     
  14. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372

    That's what I thought, afterall it built OK on WinXP SP3 HOWEVER it DOES NOT SCAN A SINGLE FILE.


    Now according to:

    ESET 4.0 SYSRESCUE is for VISTA ONLYo_O?
    Unless I hear otherwise from ESET I will be forced to assume that this is true, if so then why not place that disclaimer on the page?
    So far the ESET MODS have gone AWOL once the mod requested info was posted. I mean it's nice to come in give a generic question to show the presence and then when the question is answered go AWOL.
    At least say something, like "we are working on it" since we know that you are reading this thread, after all the initial mod response was 2 hours after posting.
    This will at least show a continual level of support or at least vigilance, otherwise the "Bad ESET support" stereotype is just being drawn out in yet another example. And please don't come in and say: "NO ESET 4.0 SYSRESCUE is not for VISTA ONLY" and then leave, since that I can answer that myself.
     
  15. BedreAntivirus

    BedreAntivirus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Posts:
    92
  16. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Gotcha will give it a try.

    The SysRescue wizard should detect the OS and presence or absence of the IMAPI then prompt the user for appropriate action. It should not successfully complete giving the user a useless disk.
     
  17. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Hey GrammatonCleric

    Could you please explain the steps you took prior to running SysRescue for the first time?

    Did you already use Windows AIK to install and/or preinstall your XP SP3 OS?

    I understand that Windows AIK and IMAPI 2.0 need to be installed on an XP OS before SysRescue can make a bootable media.

    But...

    I've been searching Microsoft's website for 3 days and the only thing that I could come up with is that Windows AIK CAN be installed on an XP OS.... to deploy a customized installation of VISTA...on another system. How can there possibly be a way to create any kind of CD,DVD, or other media using files intended for Vista to scan an XP System? Windows AIK always been a deployment tool for Vista family of OS's. XP and Vista...apples and oranges.
    Despite their simularities, XP and Vista are 2 completely different OS's.

    This whole concept of making a "working" SysRescue media to scan an XP system...just doesn't make any sense at all to me.
     
  18. BedreAntivirus

    BedreAntivirus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Posts:
    92
    can sysrescue find the disks?
    meybe its missing some sata/ide drivers
     
  19. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    I installed Windows AIK off the MS website, rebooted the system and ran the SysRescue, followed the rescue steps, created the iso or rather sysrescue created the iso.
    I burnt the iso with NERO and rebooted the system and told it to load from CD.
    There Sysrescue loaded into the environment, eset asked me to updated defs I told it no since I had no net connection on the PC (yanked it before scan). Started the custom scan by checking everything and all files, max out the scan parameters (AH, unknown programs, all extensions etc).
    Saw the scan look at drives and into folders, after 40 seconds to a min or so it came up done and 0 files scanned.

    IT could not be the drivers since ESET scan saw the drives and actually went through the folders as could be seen by the real time scanning path window thingy.

    I have WinXP system and ESET does not mention that their sysrescue is VISTA only, if it is indeed VISTA only then please say so and provide the XP users with a different tool, otherwise please fix this.

    When I get back home today I will try the steps again as per the KB article and see what happens.
     
  20. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Looks like you had better success than I did.

    I downloaded the WAIK .IMG. Used Nero to burn the DVD Image.

    Ran the DVD: started the WAIK Setup. It couldn't continue. Said .NET Framework and MSXML6 needed to be installed. So I installed .NET then MSXML 6.

    Then I installed the IMAPI 2.0 as per the ESET KB.

    Ran SysRescue. Chose to have it burn an ISO. Clicked Next and a moment later I got a popup> SysRescue Error: could not find required module. Same thing if I tried chose to burn to CD/DVD.
     
  21. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Okay. I think the reason why I couldn't get SysRescue to work before was because I didn't reboot my system after installing Windows AIK. I didn't see that mentioned in the ESET KB before.

    So, I made a successful SysRescue DVD using my External DVD Burner/Player. My External DVD is not bootable so I stuck it in my friend's system and it booted up. Neato. Went to go run a scan and I got the same thing GrammatonCleric got: 1 second to scan, 0 scanned files, etc...

    Then I noticed the Update(r) was running. It was actually updating the Virus Database. Neato. The Virus Database that's on the SysRescue is #4000. The Updater installed the latest updates to #4011 (20090415). Neato. After it was finished updating I went and ran a scan and it began scanning everything. Neato. Took a little over 6 minutes on my friend's system.

    My guess the reason why GrammatonCleric got nothing but zeros was cuz it was updating the VD. It takes awhile to finish. First the SysRescue program has to establish a network/internet connection, then it downloads them, then installs them.

    So, GrammatonCleric, give it some time to complete the updates (granted that you're still connected to your network/internet) and then run the scan. Could it be that simple? Must be. I got my SysRescue DVD to work....on my friend's system, and he doesn't have ESS installed on it anymore (his trial for ESS 4.0 expired 5 days ago so he restored his Ghost Image with Norton AV on it :gack: He hates it. Loves ESS 4.0 though...even thought he gets the same Application popups I do on my system) .
     
  22. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Hmm the update thing will be bit of a problem since the system will be offline during the scan but let see if I can do it while it's online.

    If that indeed is the case then I will be very happy.



    My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
     
  23. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Did you install the IMAPI 2.0 ??
     
  24. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Downloading it as I type...however I don't see a need for IMAPI 2.0 when I am making an ISO. IMAPI 2.0 is required when I want the app to burn the disk for me.
    But I will give it a whirl.
     
  25. trencan

    trencan Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    120
    Right, IMAPI2.0 is windows API for burning CD/DVD. If you want to create only ISO, you don't need it at all.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.