Rescue Disk Display Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jsquareg, Apr 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jsquareg

    jsquareg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    I downloaded and registered True Image 2009 Home Upgrade yesterday. The build number is 9709 and I installed it on my Widows XP Home SP3 machine.

    One of the first things I did was create a bootable rescue CD using TI's Media Builder. It works just fine in all respects except the screen resolution appears to be more like the old CGA screen and not VGA. It doesn't fit on my Samsung 19" monitor and is very grainy. The display adapter is an on board ATI Radeon X1550.

    I have tried, by using F11, to change the resolution by setting the parameter to vga=0x301 and many others but I still get the same result on each. Have also tried 'acpi=off noapci' but still the same thing.

    What do I need to do to get Media Builder to build a disk that will display properly on my machine?

    Thank you very much.

    I just noticed that when I restored from within Windows XP, the same crummy screen came up after the reboot but when the screen that shows the progress came up it was in the proper resolution. It looks like the parameters I entered with F11 on the boot disk did not get passed to the program. Go figure!

    Thanks again.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2009
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    There have been other threads about this, maybe one or two months ago, but I don't recall the outcome.
     
  3. jsquareg

    jsquareg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Thank you.

    I saw those threads you mentioned and tried the things suggested to no avail.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Is the method described in this thread the one you already tried?

    There was also another thread recently where the video was messed up and the solution was to enter the BIOS and increase the video RAM from 1MB to 8MB. Since you're using an onboard video card, you might try changing the video RAM in the BIOS and see if it helps.
     
  5. jsquareg

    jsquareg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Thank you.

    Yes, that was one of the threads I followed.

    I went into BIOS but could not find a way to increase the video size. So I guess that is out.

    Here is what I did do and it worked to some extent. I created a BARTPE disk using Pebuilder. When I booted it, it loaded its version of Windows and I had to bore down to True Image to run it. The screen displayed properly I am happy to say. But, the whole process took over 3 minutes just to get True Image up and running.

    Surely the is a more direct way.

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Is the three minutes mostly time loading from the CD? If so, and the computer supports booting USB devices in high-speed mode, booting BartPE from a flashdrive or USB hard drive can be much faster.

    What is the brand and model of the computer (or the motherboard, if custom built)?
     
  7. jsquareg

    jsquareg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    The three minutes is mostly the time loading from the CD. But that is only a part of the problem. I still have to bore down to True Image in program folder. Seems to me that I should be able to boot directly to TI on the BARTPE disk.

    The mother board is a Micro Star MS 7253 with an onboard ATI Raedon 1550 display card.

    Note that my TI 8101 produced a Recovery Disk that works just fine. Why doesn't 2009 do the same. The world wonders.

    Interestingly and confusing enough is that the 2009 Recovery Disk works just fine on my Compaq laptop.

    Is theie a way to create a BART like disk other using pebuilder?

    Thanks again for your interest and suggestions.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JackGillis,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image

    Can you please provide us the serial number for Acronis True Image Home 2009 via PM so that we can give you ISO image of Acronis True Image bootable disc which will solve the issue.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.