Rescue boot disc

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by TGMcCallie, Jan 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TGMcCallie

    TGMcCallie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Flintstone, GA USA
    I have not done a back up yet. I tried to create a rescue back up boot disc because I thought it was a disc that would boot my computer if my hard disc failed.

    Now every time shut my computer down and turn it back on I get a screen asking me if I want to boot from A drive (which I don't even have a floppy drive), Vista partition and soething else.

    I have to highlight vista partition in order to get computer to come up.

    What can I do to correct this? See reply below for information on my start up screen.......

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  2. TGMcCallie

    TGMcCallie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Flintstone, GA USA
    Here is the screen I get when i restart my computer. Bear in mind, I do not have a floppy Disc A. I created the so called rescue boot of a CD.

    Boot from A
    Drive 0 primary 00 Win Vista/2008 NTFS HP
    primary 00 Linux NTFS HP
    primary 02 Win Vista/2008 NTFS Factory_Image

    Insert start up disk ijn floppy drive and press F2 to run set up.
     
  3. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    In Paragon main window, rt click the Drive ( not a partition ) and select Update mbr. Apply.

    Hope it helps.
     
  4. TGMcCallie

    TGMcCallie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Flintstone, GA USA
    Thanks. I have already fixed it by doing a systems restore.
     
  5. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Thanks for posting back - I am pleased all is well.
     
  6. TGMcCallie

    TGMcCallie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Flintstone, GA USA
    Well, I thought it was correct but now it is happening again.

    Wish I had never tried to make that restore boot disc.
     
  7. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Did you try my suggestion in post 3 ?
     
  8. TGMcCallie

    TGMcCallie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Flintstone, GA USA
    Sorry, I could not figure out what you wanted me to do. I do not show any kind of a drive letter at all. Please be more specific such as steps to take.
    Thanks
     
  9. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    updmbr-2010-01-13_154802.jpg

    updmbr-apply-2010-01-13_154943.jpg

    Hope it helps.
     
  10. tvtony

    tvtony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I'm getting a similar F2 message.
    I have a Windows XP system with 2 System C drives on a Mirror Raid 1 using the on-board Intel Raid controller on the motherboard. I installed Paragon Drive Backup 9 and it asked me to restart the computer. Now I get a message to "Insert startup disk in floppy drive and press F2 to run setup." The top of the screen says "Drive 0: primary 00 Win 2K/XP/2003 NTFS System with a blinking underline at the top right of the screen.

    I've tried the above suggestions to enter the boot corrector, but when I do I get an error saying "No HDD Installed. Program Terminating".

    Did the Mirror affect the Paragon installation?

    Any suggestions are appreciated.
     
  11. TGMcCallie

    TGMcCallie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Flintstone, GA USA
    Got bad news for you. I tried everything within my power to correct my situation and could not get it corrected.

    I had to completely do a systems restore and put the computer back like it came to me from the factory. Yes, I lost everything because I could not back up my computer.

    After I reformatted it and reinstalled the operating system and all the HP programs that came on my computer it booted up once and then did the exact same thing. No MBR (Master Boot Record). Seems as though this damn program from Paragon runned the hard drive whre the boot record goes.

    I had to order another hard drive and use it for my system drive.

    So there will never be another Paragon piece of software installed on my sysstem. NEVER>
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.