Request : MVPS Hosts file dl and update

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by w33d3r, Apr 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. w33d3r

w33d3r Registered Member

2. siljaline

siljaline Registered Member

3. m00nbl00d

m00nbl00d Registered Member

As for the rest, you could use HostsMan to deal with the hosts file. -http://www.abellhadigital.com

4. w33d3r

w33d3r Registered Member

siljaline - I used the words "aswell as" to indicate I already have knowledge of that functionality, and that the request is in addition to that functionality.

moonblood - Hostsman is quite clearly linked on MVPS page I linked, as is HostsXpert

I have used both, I am very familiar with them, and they both have problems on my systems. Development of those utilities seems to be an occasional hobby.

Spywareblaster is consistently reliable on all my machines ( no matter what version of windows in use ). I have been using it for many years now.

My request is for Spywareblaster to incorporate the ability to download and install updated MVPS Hosts file, not to be redirected to other utilities.

Is there anyone here can evaluate the possibility and merits of implementing such a feature ?

I only request the feature because I feel Spywareblaster would be the ideal utility to also have this capability. Instead of having multiple different utilities which vary in their success on different operating system versions.

Last edited: Apr 12, 2013
  5. m00nbl00d

m00nbl00d Registered Member

I understand all that, but when one already has a few tools, including a PowerShell script, to work with the hosts file, I really believe it would be wasting time implementing that, not to mentioned that, most likely if many other SpywareBlaster users wanted that feature, they would like it to automatically update the hosts file, and I suspect this automatic update functionality would be a paid for feature, just like the current SpywareBlaster automatic update.