replacing windows xp firewall with online armor free question

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by wutsup, Apr 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey wilders, on my secondary 32 xp home system i would like to replace the windowx xp firewall with online armor free even if im already behind a router.

    my question is will online armor automatically disable windows xp firewall or do i have to disable windows xp firewall myself?

    and when i install online armor free it should allow the internet to work right away right?
     
  2. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    yes, go to http://www.tallemu.com/webhelp3/Installing.html
     
  3. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    ok thx, i just installed it and it and it seems to be running fine with geswall free and avira 10 pesonal.

    sorry but i have another question lol. during the installation it asked for my email address and i just typed in a random bogus email. is that ok?

    and also in the firewall interface tab, can i uncheck the trusted box? i also have another computer on my home network but the 2 computers do not share files or printers or anything like that.

    and is the localhost suppose to be 127.0.0.1?
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2010
  4. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    anyone?

    and also after installing OA free, that when i open up icons from the control panel(i.e. like mouse properties) for the first time the computer makes a beep sound now. was that from online armor free?
     
  5. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    Are you sure install free version ? what do you mean trusted box in firewall interface tab ?

    I suggest you read carefully

    http://support.tallemu.com/vbforum/showthread.php?t=1697 and

    http://www.tallemu.com/webhelp3/QnAHosts.htm :)
     
  6. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    nope, I also use OA free.

    Run Safety Check Wizard

    Right click OA icon > Configuration > Safety Check Wizard
     
  7. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    222
  8. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    @Webbit - very many thanks for the heads-up on OA.
    Just bought it for the silly price!
     
  9. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    222
    mo too bargain
     
  10. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    of course i installed the free version.....im talking in the firewall configuration where it shows your LAN ip address , you can uncheck it to make it red and not trusted. im asking if i can leave it like that even if i have 2 computers in my home network but i do not share files or a printer between them
     
  11. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    By default, leave them both checked:) I never share files or printer in my home network to minimize nasty things spread.

    see http://www.tallemu.com/webhelp3/FWStd.html
     
  12. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    then you should uncheck the trusted box to not share files and printers right?

    why do you have the trusted box checked?
     
  13. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    its my home network,its better to trust it :D

    I already have been set through Printers and Faxes in order not to allow sharing files/printers. :)
     
  14. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    ah ic, yea i already have unchecked the file/printer sharing the the network, but i also have online armor free also have the trusted box unchecked just in case :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.