Replacing NIS2006 with ???

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Chamlin, Aug 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    A few weeks ago my desktop AND laptop got sluggish and (both) started showing multiple warnings in a row by Norton Antivirus, "Norton AntiVirus 2006 does not support the repair feature...". If I clicked OK each time I opened a MS program (and at the start of this thing, at Windows startup), then Windows and the programs would eventually open. But long delays in screens filling out the images. Torture.

    There are fixes which I've tried, but they didn't work. A few days ago the message boxes stopped popping up, but the computers are still sluggish.

    I uninstalled NIS, the system was lightning fast. Reinstalled it, back to sluggish. I'm also running Spysweeper, spywareblaster, Ad-aware, and was running spybot until NIS upon reinstall said get rid of it.

    QUESTIONS:
    1. Is it worth a try to uninstall again but this time using the additional symantec cleaning tools to really wipe it out, then reinstall?

    or

    2. Should I just give it up even though I have 270 days (of hell?) left on my subscription, and instead go with small footprint services like Comodo firewall and ________ antivirus?

    I like what I hear about NOD32, BitDefender and am concerned about learning curves with a new AV and firewall. Norton was so easy. I'm not tech-deep, but with guidance I can get around. My wife on the other hand needs the laptop to be free of bothersome popups that will cause her to be afraid to keep working on the computer because she doesn't understand what the dialog boxes mean.

    I would be most grateful for your insight.
    Chamlin
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi

    well some parts of norton really arent userfreindly people think just because the main screen is userfreindly the whole program is but it isnt.

    kaspersky is good but its not for people who dont know what there doing

    avira antivir is very good and is low footprint and is really userfreindly and its really cheap as well

    bitdefender has very good default options that you could just let it do its job.
    also most avs you can turn to a silent mode.

    lodore
     
  3. dah145

    dah145 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    n/a
    If NAV 2006 is causing you troubles stop using it and use another good AV such as:

    Kaspersky 6: Excellent AV, low in resources, but a little bit complicated. (Its proactive defense module could be annoying if you dont know what you are doing)

    NOD32: Low in resources and the best heuristic detection rate in the AVs market.

    There are a lot of options, but these two are my favorites.
    :cool:
     
  4. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    I feel the drawn to NOD32. Will it be compatible with the spyware stuff I'm running? Spysweeper, spywareblaster, Ad-aware, and spybot?

    XP SP2, P4 2.4Gz, Netscape 7.1, Firefox, Outlook Express, Thunderbird.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    as i said if you want something easy to use and great detection try out avira antivir
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    NOD32 for both using Black Spear guide.

    And GhostWall for both. Follow the thread I posted in to stealth Ports 0 & 1.

    You'll both be golden.:D
     
  7. Littlemutt

    Littlemutt Guest

    You can cross BitDefender off the list if you intend to use spywareblaster and spy-bot, the install readme states that BD won't work right with those installed.
     
  8. Suggers

    Suggers Guest


    Yep, nod32 is compatable with all of those. :)

    I had NIS2006 pre-installed on my laptop, took it straight off and put on nod32; it's much lighter on resources.

    Suggers
     
  9. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    IMPERFECT TIMING!!! o_O

    Just as I was getting set to switch away from NIS, my wife turns on her laptop and while Netscape 7.1 is downloading mail, NAV warns her that it has detected and deleted w32.Netsky.p@mm in an email. I clicked okay. Then it starts what seems like an endless loop of "NAV has detected and removed a virus from your system". I've been clicking ok for a loooonnnng time.

    I'm looking for guidance on what to do. Rebooted fine, then the "NAV has detected..." started up again. Is this traditional Netsky behavior?

    Here's what the log looks like (the first 6 NAV actions).

    Source: Email Scanner
    Risk category: Virus
    Click for more information about this risk : W32.Netsky.P@mm
    Action taken: Detected
    Description: Possibly affected areas:
    1 Files:
    readme.exe

    Source: Manual Scanner
    Risk category: Virus
    Click for more information about this risk : W32.Netsky.P@mm
    Action taken: Repaired
    Description: Affected areas:
    1 Additional areas:
    Unknown – Deleted

    Source: C:\DOCUME~1\BRUCE&~1\LOCALS~1\TEMP\NAV93.TMP
    Click for more information about this risk : W32.Netsky.P@mm
    Action taken: Automatically deleted

    Source: C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TMP94.TMP
    Click for more information about this risk : W32.Netsky.P@mm
    Action taken: Repair failed
    Action taken: Access denied

    Source: C:\DOCUME~1\BRUCE&~1\LOCALS~1\TEMP\NAV95.TMP
    Click for more information about this risk : W32.Netsky.P@mm
    Action taken: Automatically deleted

    Source: C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TMP96.TMP
    Click for more information about this risk : W32.Netsky.P@mm
    Action taken: Automatically deleted

    Please advise. And if this is an inappropriate post, please guide me on where to go for help.

    Thanks,
    Chamlin
     
  10. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    If you use SpySweeper than you can install free AVG or AntiVir and you should be ok.
     
  11. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    But I can't get NAV to stop popping up with the the w32.Netsky.p@mm warnings...
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    You could try the Netsky cleaner located here. It's a zip file. Just open the zip file, double click NSKclean.exe and hit start.

    It the worm is in system restore, it will keep coming back. If you turn off system restore, you will lose any restore points you have.

    The Symantec site has a tool here.
     
  13. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Re: Replacing NIS2006 with --&-- w32.netsky problem

    1. Don't care about the system restore points...do I?

    2. Better chance to fix this with system restore off?

    3. Can this work with NAV endlessly coming up with these tmp files as infected? Or should I turn NAV off?

    4. Is symantec's "cure" better or more thorough if this doesn't work?

    Thanks,
    Bruce
     
  14. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Why not replace NIS with the 6 months or one year trial of F-Secure? Then use the firewall and AS and AT applications of your choice.

    Jerry
     
  15. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Chamlin

    Where those entries are located, i don't think you have to worry about disabling System Restore.

    Download, install and update 'A-squared' here http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/free/

    Download Ewido http://www.ewido.net/en/download/ then set it up this way http://rstones12.geekstogo.com/ewidosetup.htm
    Make sure to update this program.

    Download ATF-Cleaner to your desktop from this link
    http://www.atribune.org/content/view/19/2/

    Go to 'Control Panel/ System/System Restore' and check the box ' Turn off system restore on all drives' click 'apply' and 'okay'.

    Next, reboot your computer in Safe Mode by doing the following :

    Restart your computer

    After hearing your computer beep once during startup, but before the Windows icon appears, tap the F8 key continually;

    Instead of Windows loading as normal, a menu with options should appear;

    Select the first option, to run Windows in Safe Mode, then press "Enter".

    Choose your usual account.

    Make sure none of your other security programs are running-Norton,etc.This is very important.

    Run your scans in this order.

    A-squared
    Ewido- under 'scanner/settings'- make sure all boxes are checked here- 'Possibly Unwanted Software'.

    Run ATF-Cleaner from safe mode.Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
    Under Main choose: Select All
    Click the Empty Selected button.

    Reboot into normal windows and enable system restore again and create a 'New Restore Point' by going to 'Start/Programs/Accessories/System Tools/System Restore'.
     
  16. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Re: Replacing NIS2006 with --&-- w32.netsky problem

    NSK Clean didn't find anything. NIS is still doing its freakout. If NOD32's NSK Clean doesn't find it does it mean it is really not there? And that NIS is just tweaked?

    Would you suggest I just uninstall NIS to cure it?

    If so, would I then run the NSK Clean? (why would it find it then?)

    Dazed and confused...I guess NIS must have been wounded that I was going to replace it and needs an apology...
     
  17. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Crisis over. Thanks for all of your help. Live Updated NIS2006. Symantec had sent out an officially bad Live Update and has now fixed it.

    Now I can get back to deciding on my new AV and FW.

    This thread can officially fade away into the sunset!

    You guys are great!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  18. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    It's just beginning for you.That's because you still have the Norton Uninstall ahead.Oh Joy!.
     
  19. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    well well,i think nothing excites security guru's more than a flaw from either of microsoft/symantec...
    I was also one of the critics of symantec(mostly due to bashings i read from security guru's on the net) till i tried it myself...
    My friend has a two-yr license with him and he never has had any problems till now(6months)...
    Like,chamlin said it was just a bad update!!!
    Kaspersky still creates problem while updating on some pc's,gives bsod's while scanning a certain dll file in windows folder,but does it make a bad product?
    no!
    In my opinion,i would encourage you chamlin to continue with ur norton subscription...
    I don't know what ur config,but it seems norton does the same thing to you,which panda does to me..
     
  20. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Well, I THOUGHT I had resolved it all. Both the desktop and laptop were fine for at least 8 reboots, 16 hours. And then, NAV popped up again with the w32.netsky.p@mm endless loop, stopping my machine cold. Both machines.

    NOD's and Symantec's netsky cleaners found NO sign of the netsky. BD's online scan...NO sign of netsky. NAV must be off of its medication.

    So I made an executive decision: Turn off System Restore, Uninstall NIS and wipe it clean with the extra tools. Did it.

    Then...reinstall NIS clean? or give myself a reprieve for a while with other programs...so I installed Comodo's firewall and installed NOD's AV trial.

    I'll let you know what happens on the 9th reboot and in 17 hours...:-*

    Thanks for the guidance...ever ongoing!
     
  21. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    I used to use NIS2006 but had similar problems a year ago. I moved to ZA Security Suite (6.0 as was then and now 6.5) which is rated as the best by many. Found it relatively light on resources but was not particularly impressed by the AV or AS component (AV supplied by CA & AS component is produced in-house) and found that soome of the privacy aspects a bit annoying in terms of notifications, etc. Understand that the AV & AS have been improved so this could be a candidate.

    I then moved to Kaspersky Internet Security Suite (KIS) and ahve stuck with that. The AV is superb (combined with AS), it runs very light on resources and has signature updates usuaally every 2 hours most days. The Proactive Defense feature is also superb. Apparent ly the heuristics feature is not as good as NOD32 but there is a new engine due by the end of the year and if that is any better than the current one (hope so) then when linked with the Proactive defence faeture it should make KIS unbeatable.

    Anyway, I would recommend either of the above if you are looking for a replacement suite.

    Hope that helps?:D
     
  22. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Update: I find the following very interesting:

    1. BitDefender's online scan didn't find Netsky
    2. NOD32's Netsky cleanup didn't find Netsky
    3. Symantec's Netsky cleanup didn't find Netsky
    4. That NIS2006 could have let Netsky through to begin with
    and
    5. That my just run NOD32 indepth analysis found on both the desktop and laptop...two instances of Netsky.

    (example) C:\WINDOWS\Temp\tmp98C.tmp - Win32/Netsky.Q worm - quarantined - unable to clean - deleted

    Be it a hiccup or a burp, it got through.

    What I've noticed is that with NOD32 and Comodo, my system appears to be quicker. Now, over to NOD32's forum to ask a few questions!

    New lineup:
    NOD32
    Comodo Firewall
    SpySweeper
    SpywareBlaster
    Ad-Aware
    Spybot
    Just added: SuperAntiSpyware

    See any big holes or too much redundancy?

    Thanks again for your help,
    Chamlin
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2006
  23. SpySentinel

    SpySentinel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Your AV and Firewall are keepers.
    Since you have Spy Sweeper, Spybot, and SUPER AntiSpyware, you can get rid of SpywareBlaster and Ad-Aware if you want.
     
  24. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Do they conflict or are they simply redundant and more of a drain on system resources than they're worth?
     
  25. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Personally I would keep what you have. I have not found either SpywareBlaster or Ad-Aware load the system.
    I am not convinced, however, that Ad-Aware is useful, in spite of the recommendations it receives.

    Jerry
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.