Replacement for Opera 12x

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by djg05, Sep 27, 2014.

  1. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,504
    I have been using Opera for many years and am loathe to replace it but I am finding that it is less and less compatible with many sites.

    Otter shows promise but it is not yet prime time.

    I have been following Opera Dev and don't like it, and since ver 25 I have been unable to run it through Sandboxie. In fact that I am finding that in common with many Chrome clones.

    Does anyone else have this problem?
     
  2. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    340
    What about trying K-Meleon 74? It just went final earlier today.
     
  3. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    I am finding increasing incompatibility issues as well.. but as far as I know there is no replacement for what opera 12x can do as regards customizeability , if there is i'd sure like to know as well
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,280
    Location:
    England
    Opera 12 has features no other browser has. It is truly unique and every other browser I use is always measured against it.

    Been giving SeaMonkey a run out at times.

    I'm also getting comfortable with IE11.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2014
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Actually, I think that at least 90% of all sites still work correctly, and for the ones that do not, I use Firefox. I also email web-masters if their site is not working anymore, they are often able to fix it. But for me no need to switch, Opera v11 and v12 are simply the best. :)
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Maxthon?
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm going off topic now, and cool that you're into Maxthon, but a couple of days ago I found an old Maxthon version (v2 to be exact) on my USB pen-drive, and it was kinda cool back then. It's a shame that they did not manage to improve that version. Instead they ruined it with the v3 and v4 versions. :thumbd:
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, I remember the Gecko-engined version. I think after a shaky start with v3 they are on the right path with the most recent releases IMO. It's the only browser that comes close to replacing the Presto Opera for me.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    @ Daveski17

    Actually, it was the IE Trident version (with an option to use Gecko I think) but v4 really is different compared to v2, they kinda ruined the GUI.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Max.png
      Max.png
      File size:
      93.2 KB
      Views:
      35
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, that's it. I'm pretty sure it was Gecko-engined with an IE plug-in though. The default on Windows is still to plug-in IE.

    Also, v3 had a lot of alternate skins and you could make it look like v2. I've grown to accept the new GUI lol!
     
  11. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Definitely agree :)
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Trust me, I still have it on my PC, it's the other way around. In v3 and v4 they switched to the Webkit engine. But they really messed up the GUI and it's a huge resource hog. Also, many connections are being made during install and launch, I dunno I think it's all a bit fishy.

    EDIT: I've just read that IE 12 will have extension support, I wonder if they will switch back to the IE Trident engine. Trident has also been improved a lot is, it's way faster than back in the days. :)
     
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You're probably right about the Gecko plug-in. I actually prefer the new GUI now. I don't know about resource hogging, it's the only thing fast enough to decently browse on my Vista laptop. Although I use it on my desktop as well. I don't know about the connections, but it has a cloud functionality now as well as an updater. I still trust Jeff Chen.
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    QupZilla 1.8?

    I've been giving this a run on my laptop. The adblocker's pretty good and it doesn't seem to break pages anymore.

    http://www.qupzilla.com/
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's a matter of taste, I just hate these "modern style" GUI's. Why try to fix something that was never broken. And yes, I suppose Maxthon will not upload your private documents, but I do not like a browser that keeps "phoning home".
     
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I got used to the 'modern' look. Everything resembles Chrome anyway now. I think everything phones home these days. It usually isn't for nefarious purposes. People keep telling me that Dolphin and Maxthon 'phone home'. It won't stop me using two of the best browsers available today though. Plus, if they can finance excellent freeware in some way by phoning home, I wouldn't begrudge them that.
     
  17. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes I hate Chrome, especially because you can not customize the GUI like in Opera v12 for example. Also, in Maxthon, Chrome and IE there is no option to put the tabs on bottom, are they kidding me? That's basic stuff to me. But yes, a lot of apps phone home nowadays, I try to stay away from them as much as I can, another option is to simply block certain IP ranges with the firewall.
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You can put the tabs on the bottom in Maxthon (Menu - Skins). I use a router so I'm content with Windows Firewall. I'm not competent enough to block anything.
     
  20. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    there is no worthy replacement for Opera 12.x yet.
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Cool, didn't know that. About blocking stuff, I'm also not a firewall expert, but with old versions of ZoneAlarm it's quite easy.

    I fully agree. :thumb:
     
  22. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I really think it was stupid for opera team to ditch opera classic on desktop and mobile. I am sure they will be out of business very soon due to this blunder.
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Mx is surprisingly configurable. It may have the same rendering engine as Chrome, but it isn't Chrome. I've never used it, but ZoneAlarm was supposed to be very good in its day. It had a lot of fans.
     
  24. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Maxthon changes Windows firewall rules. MX.png
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    A lot of things probably change Windows firewall rules. It doesn't mean it is for some nefarious or devious reason.
     
Loading...