Repair the MBR with Acronis?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by wokoenig, Feb 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wokoenig

    wokoenig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Good morning together :)

    Another Tool did damage my MBR, so I coud'nt start my system (XP Pro, SP1).
    I did make a restore from the systempartion ( C: ) with a backup Image from TI 8.x.
    I hoped that the restore will repair the MBR too.
    But it didn't.
    With the repair function of my XP Pro CD (fixmbr) I could repair it.
    Question:
    How I can repair a damage MBR with TI?
     
  2. GeeeAus

    GeeeAus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    I'm fairly sure you can't.

    TI doesn't actually make a copy of the boot sector from what I understand of it. You did the right thing using the fixboot tool from XP Pro.

    Ghost doesn't seem to restore the bootsector either. So first thing to try if you restore a PC and it doesn't boot is fdisk /mbr or fixboot if you are suing XP.

    GeeeAus
    In Oz
     
  3. wokoenig

    wokoenig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    49

    Thx for your answer,
    I think it will be a nice feature if TI can fix a MBR too.
     
  4. John Farrar

    John Farrar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    194
    In the "Other Acronis Products Products" forum there is a thread titled Acronis OS Selector Install Hangs. In that there is a link to a file called mbrautowrite which may fix your problem.
    HTH
    John
     
  5. wokoenig

    wokoenig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Hallo John
    thx for the tip.
    I have downloded the file and have installed to a flopy disk.
    But it seems this is not a bootbale disk.
    My system says: no system disk, and i cannot execute the programm.
    Any idea?
     
  6. John Farrar

    John Farrar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    194
    Hi wokoenig
    The file is an executable file (.exe) so you will need to boot from a bootable floppy first, then insert the disk with the .exe file and type at the a: prompt mbrautowrite_en.exe. That should work but please be aware that you take responsibility for doing this ;)
    Good luck
    John
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi GeeeAus,

    I believe I'm right in saying that TI does copy the MBR into an image but only if you elect to image the whole primary (active) drive as opposed to just the system partition. Hence the problem experienced by wokoenig.

    Regards
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Wolfgang,

    As an alternative to the tool mentioned by John, check out this <earlier post by Acronis Support> (Ilya). It contains instructions and a link to a file, which creates a bootable floppy that enables you to fix the MBR.

    Regards
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    I suppose it worth posting once again. You may fix the MBR using the following instructions (one is for floppy drives and the other is for CDs):

    Please insert a diskette into the floppy drive and run the file available by the link below:

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/mbrautowrite_en.exe

    Once the floppy is written, boot the computer from it and confirm that you want to fix the master boot record.

    If you prefer CDs (for example in case you have no floppy drive) drive please use the following ISO image to create a special CD:

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/mbrautowrite_en.iso

    You can read how to record a CD with an ISO image at the following links:

    http://trb.org/publications/burning_iso.html
    (Nero Burning ROM and Roxio Easy CD Creator)

    http://members.home.nl/lsnoek/iso.htm
    http://www.petri.co.il/how_to_write_iso_files_to_cd.htm
    (other applications)

    Once the CD is written, boot the computer from it and confirm that you want to fix the master boot record.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.