Renewed - but NOD won't update

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 1 Forum' started by snapdragin, Mar 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hey'a :)

    This might be just a problem with the servers being busy, or i have missed a step in my renewal of my NOD32 license?

    my yearly license expired 24-Mar-03....i just purchased the 1-yr renewal for my XP-Home and received both comfirmation emails...one with my new UserName and Password. In the email it said if this was just a renewal that i didn't have to re-download the software again, and that i could just put the new UserName and Password in the Control Centre, which i did. :)

    i also rebooted just in case. But when i clicked on the update to bring NOD up to the most recent v.1.387 (2003032:cool:, the li'l pop-up that says my NOD is up-to-date came up. my NOD is not up-to-date though. It is still at v.1.385 (20030324). 4 days behind.

    Is there something i have missed or is there maybe a waiting period for the new UserName and Password to work? Just to let you know, i have not had any troubles updating NOD before this. That is why i am wondering now.

    Thank you for any help, is greatly appreciated.

    snap :)
     
  2. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    You did everything right! It could be a server glitch. Try again later!


    Technodrome
     
  3. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    works ok here

    Ruben
     
  4. Earldor

    Earldor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Posts:
    2
    Hi!

    I also seem to have trouble updating. Nod32 website states that the latest update is 1. 387 (2003032:cool: and my latest update is 1.386. I've tried both www.nod32.com and www.eset.sk servers. The first one claims that I have the current update, the latter gives me "file not found" warning.

    Is there a way to manually update the file, an ftp-server perhaps?

    Cheers,

    Earldor
     
  5. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Thanks Technodrome, i am hoping it's just a server glitch too because i don't want to uninstall and reinstall unless i really have to. ;)

    Earldor, i justed tried again (both servers) and i get the same messages as you do.

    NOD32 system information
    Version:         1.385 (20030324)
    Installed on:      03/24/2003
    Virus database build:   2890
    Environment version:   1.047
    Last Update attempt:   03/30/03 08:06:42

    i looked also for a way to manually update the database, but i couldn't find anything on it either.

    Hopefully one of the NOD32 Mods will be in soon? :)

    regards,

    snap
     
  6. MichaelE

    MichaelE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    V?ster?s Sweden
    I cannot update to the 1.387 either ??

    NOD32 system information
    Version:         1.386 (20030326)
    Installed on:      03/26/2003
    Virus database build:   2891
    Environment version:   1.047
    Last Update attempt:   03/30/03 17:18:13

    Operating system information
    Platform:   Windows XP
    Version:   5.1.2600 Service Pack 1
    Common controls version: 5.82.2800
    RAM:   383 MB

    Diagnostics information
    Base module build:   2876

    Michael

    o_O
     
  7. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Try removing your username and password, un-checking the "Remember" box, shutting down NOD, re-starting it and then re-inputting the username/password again.

    Make especially sure of the case input (upper or lower) of the password when inputting it.

    Don't know if it'll help or not, but it's worth a shot if you haven't already tried it. Pete
     
  8. Sonic

    Sonic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Same problem here. Here is my system info.

    NOD32 system information
    Version:         1.383 (20030321)
    Installed on:      03/21/2003
    Virus database build:   2885
    Environment version:   1.047
    Last Update attempt:   03/30/03 12:03:32

    Operating system information
    Platform:   Windows XP
    Version:   5.1.2600 Service Pack 1
    Common controls version: 5.82.2800
    RAM:   511 MB

    Diagnostics information
    Base module build:   2876

    Here is my log:

    <03/30/03 12:03:10> Control Center: NOD32 Control Center executed as NT service
    <03/30/03 12:03:31> Control Center: Search for new version triggered manually
    <03/30/03 12:03:33> Control Center: NOD32 current version installed.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  9. Earldor

    Earldor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Posts:
    2
    Hello again!

    I got a reply from the Scandinavian support:

    "The current beta-version updates to that version without any problems, but the release version doesn't. I do not know the cause of this, and have contacted the developers regarding this probable problem."

    So, no solution yet, but at least the Nod32 crew know about the glitch. Maybe the release of the _new_ Nod32 is nearing, and the servers are being updated.... No? Ok, maybe not.

    ;)

    Cheers,

    Earldor
     
  10. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Gents,

    Eset has been informed - but they enjoy a well deserved weekend. Stay tuned; support is arriving soon ;).

    regards.

    paul
     
  11. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi,

    we are sorry about that. Our provider for www.nod32.com has temporary problems - they will solve it
    asap.

    You can use our mirror server www.esetsoftware.com where possible - e.g. for updating ( the hint is ment fo all levels of users :) ):

    How to update the NOD32 current version from the www.esetsoftware.com server:

    - click on the NOD32 Control Center icon on the Taskbar (small diskette icon with "CC" on it)
    - go to "Update" tab
    - click on the "Servers" button
    - enter "http://www.esetsoftware.com/upd_info" to the "New server:" field
    - click "Add server"
    - click "Close"
    - click on the "Server:" combo beside the "Servers" button
    - choose "www.esetsoftware.com"
    - Click "Update now"

    Updating the NOD32 Beta from the www.esetsoftware.com server:

    - click the NOD32 Control Center Icon on the Taskbar (half-white, half-green icon)
    - go to Update>Update>Setup
    - click on the "Server:" combo beside the "Servers" button
    - choose "www.esetsoftware.com"
    - click OK
    - click "Update now"

    We will improve this situation.

    Thanks, :)

    jan
     
  12. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi jan, and thank you!

    It took a wee while but i wasn't going to close the update box....and it worked great!

    NOD32 system information
    Version:      1.389 (20030331)
    Installed on:      03/31/2003
    Virus database build:   2902
    Environment version:   1.047
    Last Update attempt:   03/31/03 11:29:45

    Thank you very much for your help! :D

    snap
     
  13. MichaelE

    MichaelE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    V?ster?s Sweden
    Jan
    Thak you for this service..
    Worked fine and gave me 1.389

    Michael :)
     
  14. Gule

    Gule Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Pazin, Croatia
    OK, thanks for workaround. But, it will be nice to put this solution to your Web.

    Also, it will be very helpful that ControlCenter can try multiple servers, when default server is unreachable.
     
  15. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,350
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks! :)

    I only just noticed that my last update was v.1.386, but changing the update server to http://www.esetsoftware.com/ fixed it for me as well!
     
  16. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi Gule and all,

    as you've probably already discovered - there should be no problems with updating from these servers:

    www.nod32.com and

    www.esetsoftware.com

    for a longer time.

    We'd recommend to use www.nod32.com first.

    >Also, it will be very helpful that ControlCenter can try multiple servers, when default server is unreachable.

    Yes, this will be added - this is a good point and we realized it too.

    Thanks, :)

    jan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.