Renewal of NOD v5

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by winchester73, Nov 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. winchester73

    winchester73 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Somewhere along Tobacco Road, North Carolina
    I have a license for Smart Security that is two weeks from expiration, and got the renewal nag screen starting today. I have actually only downloaded and installed the anti-virus version, not ESS. When I click on the renewal button and validate my registration, I am only presented with the options to renew ESS. I can't find any options to change the order process.

    Anyone know how to "downgrade" a renewal? I really only want the AV version.
     
  2. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    you should probably contact your seller if that is eset directly than give them a call in the usa at ESET North America

    ESET, LLC
    610 West Ash Street
    Suite 1900
    San Diego, CA 92101
    U.S.A.


    Toll Free. +1 (866) 343-ESET (373:cool:
    Tel: +1 (619) 876-5400
    Fax: +1 (619) 876-5845
    Web: www.eset.com/us

    sent you a pm as well..
     
  3. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
  4. winchester73

    winchester73 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Somewhere along Tobacco Road, North Carolina
    No, that's the same page that comes up from within the program nag screen. It only presents ESS as the renewal option.

    If all else fails, I'll just go ahead and get one of the Cyber Weekend licenses ... 2 years of ESS for the price of 1. It's the same price as what they charge for a new 2 year license of the AV. Still $9 more than the AV renewal price ...

    Maybe I'll hear from customer service on Monday.
     
  5. vigen

    vigen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Posts:
    60
    Hello,

    I have the same problem, i want "downgrade" to Nod32.

    In France, answer of the custumer service, its not possible to "downgrade" an ESS license ...
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    With ESS licence one can use it either for ESS or Nod32, back and forth. Make sense that Nod32 only licence is not valid for more complex product such as ESS
     
  7. winchester73

    winchester73 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Somewhere along Tobacco Road, North Carolina
    Cudni, sorry to confuse ...

    I have an ESS license, but only use the AV program, have never downloaded the full ESS. I know I can downgrade the download, which I do. I install the AV even though I have an ESS license.

    I realize you can't go "up" from AV to ESS, at least without paying for the upgrade price difference. That only makes sense.

    What I want to do is renew my license for two years for just the AV. Hopefully I can get the 15% discount in the process. However the screen presented for renewal shows ESS as my only option. I should think there is a simple way to renew any type of product license that you would want. Upgrade from AV to ESS, renew what you have, downgrade from ESS to AV. YMMV.
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    but you have ESS licence and that is the licence you can renew and get that discount. You then continue to use only AV portion
     
  9. BonskY

    BonskY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Longueuil, Canada
    Good day,

    Yep, I think your stuck on 'the loop', a renewal are for a specific product, if you've a ESS licence you can only renew an ESS license and not NOD32 that it a different product license.

    We know that Eset allow a registration of NOD 32 with a ESS licence, but if you would like only paid for NOD 32 and futur renewal, you've to change "the loop" to NOD 32.

    Or maybe, you can got a goodwill from Eset costumer service...

    I wish you a good luck...:)
     
  10. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    winchester73, i think you can do what you want and downgrade from ESS to NOD32 only, please contact customer care by phone. Please come back to tell us if you succeeded
     
  11. Aviator_Frank

    Aviator_Frank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Is there any way to stop the nag screen? I get a tray icon balloon tip almost hourly and I've got 2 weeks till renewal.

    It's so annoying you have no idea. I can't find a setting in the advanced tree that will cease the notifications.
     
  12. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hi
    As to my knowledge there is no way to turn off the nag screen regarding the renewal of Eset. And quite honestly I think it's ok to remind about the renewal 14 days before it expires. That is definitely not nagging , IMO.... Many Av.vendors have far more aggressive ways, than Eset, when it comes to renewal of user license.

    Take Care
     
  13. Aviator_Frank

    Aviator_Frank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I renewed the license about 6 hours ago but the tray icon is till orange and the program is still nagging several times a day about renewals!

    How long before it's updated at ESET's servers that's the license has been renewed?
     
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN103
     
  15. Aviator_Frank

    Aviator_Frank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks, ronjor!
     
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    If you have any problems, post again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.