Remove Vista shortcut arrows

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Jul 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,858
    Location:
    Texas
    i finally replaced my 2004 xp computer, with a 64 bit vista home premium machine. I need help removing those ugly confounded shortcut arrows (easy in XP with tweakUI)

    I've had no luck with:

    Frameworx - hitting appy or ok equals "unhandled exception has occoured in your app"

    Also downloaded this see #1 Here

    This removed the arrows but left the plain white icon on top of the shortcut, & trying to make a new shortcut doe not help.

    Thanks in Advance
    Rico
     
  2. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,279
    Location:
    UK

    Attached Files:

  3. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello

    It's not what you asked but you can also kill the icon names.

    Switch on number lock > Right-click icon > Rename > Alt+255 > Enter

    Next icon would be Alt+255, release Alt, Alt+255 > Enter etc.etc

    Very aesthetic but only useful if you have just a couple of d/t icons - otherwise it's easy to lose track of which icon had which no. of Alt+255s

    philby
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    If I remember right, I got this error when it asked me if I want to let the program log the computer out and I said "Yes". I then said "No" and manually logged out and back in where it worked perfectly.
     
  5. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,858
    Location:
    Texas
    Messrs Nick, Philby, & Midway:

    Thanks!!!!

    Nick the version in your post would not install as it's for "Windows 7", I did download the "VI" version which worked. I did not previously have a "shutdown" & "stby" shortcuts, no biggie. But WOW it's nice to be rid of those ugly arrows. Also version "VI" has many warnings pop up during install. I suggest anyone else contemplating this "download" either image first or, at minimum make a "restore point."

    Thanks Guys
    Rico
     
  6. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,279
    Location:
    UK
    sorry Rico i did mean tweak vi as that's from my screen shot but i also use tweak 7 for windows 7 glad to see you have it sorted out :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.