Remove Vista shortcut arrows

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Jul 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,700
    Location:
    Texas
    i finally replaced my 2004 xp computer, with a 64 bit vista home premium machine. I need help removing those ugly confounded shortcut arrows (easy in XP with tweakUI)

    I've had no luck with:

    Frameworx - hitting appy or ok equals "unhandled exception has occoured in your app"

    Also downloaded this see #1 Here

    This removed the arrows but left the plain white icon on top of the shortcut, & trying to make a new shortcut doe not help.

    Thanks in Advance
    Rico
     
  2. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK

    Attached Files:

  3. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello

    It's not what you asked but you can also kill the icon names.

    Switch on number lock > Right-click icon > Rename > Alt+255 > Enter

    Next icon would be Alt+255, release Alt, Alt+255 > Enter etc.etc

    Very aesthetic but only useful if you have just a couple of d/t icons - otherwise it's easy to lose track of which icon had which no. of Alt+255s

    philby
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    If I remember right, I got this error when it asked me if I want to let the program log the computer out and I said "Yes". I then said "No" and manually logged out and back in where it worked perfectly.
     
  5. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,700
    Location:
    Texas
    Messrs Nick, Philby, & Midway:

    Thanks!!!!

    Nick the version in your post would not install as it's for "Windows 7", I did download the "VI" version which worked. I did not previously have a "shutdown" & "stby" shortcuts, no biggie. But WOW it's nice to be rid of those ugly arrows. Also version "VI" has many warnings pop up during install. I suggest anyone else contemplating this "download" either image first or, at minimum make a "restore point."

    Thanks Guys
    Rico
     
  6. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    sorry Rico i did mean tweak vi as that's from my screen shot but i also use tweak 7 for windows 7 glad to see you have it sorted out :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.