Released Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork) Versions with Signed Driver

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,812
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes congrats David and thanks for your hard work. I'm still using the old Sandboxie from Sophos because it still works on Win 8.1, but perhaps I will install Sandboxie Plus on Win 10. From what I understood it works exactly the same but you added a couple of features and fixed a couple of security bugs. It would be cool if someone could help you with further development.
     
  2. wissec

    wissec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Out
    Multiple gratitude to your work David, thank you for giving us improvements in this jewel of a program.
     
  3. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,709
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    5.45 Plus for Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit working well here. Running Brave browser in it right now just for test. No problem with install and setup ran without incident. Using around 27MB RAM. I've only had it running less than 5 minutes, so we'll see how it goes later. Right now, I'm liking it.

    Might be I can remove Comodo and use this sandbox, and just put a free av aboard.
     
  4. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Updated to 5.45 and without issue, but I did notice that my old ini which I do keep as a backup now have two new Templates under [GlobalSettings]

    Windows10CoreUI
    FireFix_for_Win7

    I've removed both of these because a fix for Window 7 seems pointless for Windows 10, no? And what exactly does "Windows10CoreUI" even do? What is it "fixing". Either way, things worked fine before, and without these, things still working fine.

    And a random thought, you should re-brand IMO, Sandboxie-Plus to become just a companion App to Sandboxie "Classic". It basically is already just a GUI, with a few enchantment, I tried it out for a bit but don't feel it's quite mature yet enough and not really worth the extra "bloat" that comes with it compared to the "Classic" install, but if it were a stripped down standalone thing that can be used with "Classic", then it would have more appeal to me, I realize it already sorta is this and there's portable-mode which does what I'm saying, but I'm talking more of a super stripped down version that requires "Classic" installed to work, so there nothing redundant in having both side by side.

    Oh and please make your patch notes more clear, separate them into Plus/Classic or literally stamp [Plus], [Classic], [Plus & Classic] to every bullet point. I've been reading them on GitHub and it's sometimes really hard to know what's "new" "add" "fixed" etc. and to which versions of Sandboxie they apply too, sometimes you say added XXX to SandMan UI, well that makes this one obvious, but then there's "added new notification window", is this only for the "Plus" version? "Classic"? or both?

    Also congrats on the cert. What costed you more, the cert or the headache?
     
  5. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    VPN city
    I'm having trouble clearing out sandboxes with the sandman ui I'm still able to clear them with the legacy UI though.
     
  6. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    @DavidXanatos Sandboxie Plus install

    Sorting in Sandbox is now always Z - A even if I switch it over, after a new start it is back upside down, maybe due to the test with groups I made!? Before it was fine.

    Recover files, does not seem to remember the decision to not ask anymore if you say no, or is the function really bound to the current process, not the program itself? Then it would be OK. I would like to decide then to never ask for this program anymore, as another option. Also a suggestion: The recovering of files, could the timeout stop maybe, when you click in the window to read what it is, instead of clocking still.

    When it says file size limit double click to increase, (it looks like the old box interface), the file size limit does not get changed, next time it asks again. This seems to happen if you have classic and new gui running parallel. If you switch the old one off it is OK. So no real bug I would say.

    Oh did I mention, Cyberpunk 2077 running flawless in the SBie. Yippikayay ... :cool:

    @Special
    I am not sure what the issue with the bloat for plus is, maybe the QT libs, but ,mmhhh 56MB, do we really discuss that size in today times? I am all for less bloat but come on. If the PC can handle WIN 10, it should be able to cope with 56MB. As David said, plus is on par with classic and has much more. Even looking fast at the memory consumption, yes it is about 10 times higher, but something around 20MB. In times of 1GB ram, OK, but well. QT takes up too.
    BTW the win comp question, from release log: Windows 10 core UI component: OpenIpcPath=\BaseNamedObjects[CoreUI]-* solving issues with Chinese Input and Emojis
     
  7. Monica2000

    Monica2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Spain
    Details about this? Running on Steam or Epic Games? Where are u installed Steam/Epic, inside or outside the sandbox? Because i can't install Epic inside the sandbox and Steam installed inside can't update or install new games since Windows 2004 update.
     
  8. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    www.GOG.com which is part of CDPR, installed via galaxy as I wanted to have the preload. No client is needed for it, you can get offline installer, and setup in sandbox direct.
     
  9. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    VPN city
    Is there a way for me to donate to the development of sandboxie plus without it being a re-occurring thing and without making an account on an online service?
     
  10. Rednose!

    Rednose! Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thnx for all the hard work !

    Greetz, Red.
     
  11. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    Well as I will not add any new major features to SbieCtrl.exe the classical UI is on its way of becoming obsolete.
    Features like Snapshots, user interactive prompts that will be expanded upon in future builds, and other will not be supported when using SbieCtrl.exe

    The reason for that is two fold,
    for once the UI is really dated and not that user friendly, for example you need to save each page in the sandbox settings before you can switch to an other, etc...
    second, and more important, its immeasurably more convenient to create and maintain Qt based UI's that those obsolete MFC based UI's from the late 90's.
    I have to be efficient with my time and every minute not wasted on cumbersome 90's technology is a minute I can spend on actually relevant core functionality.

    So ideally all users should move to the Plus build as its now no longer missing any features in comparison with the classical UI.

    The Qt lib's are indeed quite big, but well what's 10 MB in 2020 a notepad app for android is larger than that LOL

    The headache isn't over until I have a workable solution for windows 7.

    @Survivor
    > Sorting in Sandbox is now always Z - A
    hmm... worst case delete the corresponding ini line in the Sandboxie-Plus.ini
    I'll look into that and fix it if i can reproduce it.

    Yes its remembered per active process.
    The recovery info dos not have a timeout, do you mean the file migration or internet access prompt?
    The timeouts are handled by the prompting process, so stopping the timeout is not trivial, i could add a setting though such that it can be set by default to 60 sec or whatever.


    @GrDukeMalden you can make a regular one time paypal donation on my homepage: https://xanasoft.com/donate/
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,724
    Location:
    UK
    @DavidXanatos
    I think if you are going to encourage users to move to SandboxiePlus instead of Sandboxie Classic you are going to have to explain things more.
    The majority of users are probably using Classic and are used to it, and I would think that reading about things such in Plus as 'The Qt lib's' could be a bit scary. Some users may even think SandboxiePlus with Sandman is beyond them.

    I understand that as a dev with time constraints etc, explaining things in an easy to understand way with a few screenshots etc may not be what you feel like doing :) However if you are going to get folk to move to Plus you may have to (or some other helpful member perhaps)
     
  13. ANGLAY

    ANGLAY Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    Some one gets it and understands the problem.
    Additionally David, both Firefox and Chrome (not windows) block downloads of the latest versions of Plus as malware. :shrug:.
    Please consider the comments of users who do not want all these features right now. They just want a simple to use basic sandboxing program that is not written for technical programmers. It's becoming an entirely different experience for the casual end user who likes to sandbox their internet browsing, pdf viewing, and some programs.
    Sandboxie has been with us for 15/20+ years. Change is hard. Fix the program so it can be downloaded, installed, and functions cleanly. No more hacks, white lists, off brand browsers, etc... Keep the user interface simple. Clicking "accept changes" is/was not a program limitation that required a wholesale UI change.
    All that said, I very much appreciate your hard dedicated work to keeping Sandboxie alive.
     
  14. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,029
    Agreed @stapp.

    @DavidXanatos
    Isn’t it possible for Sandboxie Plus to choose between a simple (like Classic) UI or an advanced (Plus) UI?
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2020
  15. Jeff1

    Jeff1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Hi,

    I'm running Windows 10 and using Chrome 87.0.4280.88. When I click on
    Sandboxie-Plus-x64-v0.5.0.exe I get "Failed - Virus detected". When I open Windows Security->Protection history I see the following:

    Threat blocked
    Detected: Trojan:Win32/CryptInject!ml


    I take it that's expected?

    Thanks,
    Jeff
     
  16. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    I have tested with a fresh chrome installation and the normal (not for windows 7) versions download without any complaint.
    I'm looking into a fix for windows 7...

    Having a toolbar and a log tab at the bottom is not a "entirely different experience", you can resize the log tab to 0 to get rid of it if its to much of a change.
    And I can add an option to disable/hide the tool-bar and status-bar, then the Plus UI for the most part wil look like SbieCtrl,
    well as long as you don't look into the Sandbox Settings the new one is infinetly superior, but still structured such that it resembles the old one.

    Please tell me what aspects constitute the "entirely different experience" may be I can add a classical mode to the new UI.

    @deugniet
    If I know what to remove/change from the current (advanced) UI, I can give you a simplified (classical like) UI in the new SandMan.exe


    @Jeff1
    I guess they don't like the installer I could switch to Inno setup, also I'll look into signing the installers themselves that should solve such issues to.


    Cheers
    David X.
     
  17. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,083
    source of the "micro installer"? too much mist around this term on google.
    this should resolve issues with false-positives because any antivirus is currently able to read NSIS, INNO, MSI, some EXE and archives in general.
     
  18. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    Semi self made, based on the installer from VeraCrypt formally True Crypt.
     
  19. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,029
    @DavidXanatos
    Copy the classic UI completely into Sandboxie Plus? During installation of Sandboxie Plus the user can choose between Classic UI or Plus UI. Now you can offer just one version of Sandboxie (Plus).
     
  20. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    Actually that is already the case just that there is no button to choose, and would have to make the link to the SbieCtrl.exe to your desktop by hand.

    But I don't want to provide only the plus installer as than you would install 10 MB of Qt libs just not to use them at all. The classical installer is so small that its not a problem to provide it as an alternative.


    Do you really like this minimallistic UI more?

    upload_2020-12-11_19-7-56.png

    Anyhow the next build will have an option in the View menu to switch between the default Advanced and the shown here Simple View.


    Cheers
    David
     
  21. mmlr

    mmlr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    n/a
    Hi David
    Are you planning to remove the classic version of the sandboxie?
    If so, when will it happen?
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    png_8229.png png_8230.png
    png_8231.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2020
  23. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    I vote you doing it this way.
     
  24. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    I would like to, but as long as a non insignificant amount of users still uses the old UI I won't, it is no afford to provide it.

    I may look into creating a unified installer but that would necessitate the Qt framework being downloaded on demand and I don't think users would like that so much,online installers are really a menace.



    @bjm_ So you don't want the processes to be structured in a tree? Is that correct?
    You know that you can hide any column by right click on the list header and using the context menu.
     
  25. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    VPN city
    The legacy UI is the only way I can clear out the boxes as of the latest build version. Sandman UI crashes when I try to do it with that.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.