Released Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork) Versions with Signed Driver

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,689
    Location:
    UK
    Box was set to auto-delete. I unticked and re-ticked a few boxes, then decided on an uninstall and fresh install.
    All is working correctly now David :thumb:
     
  2. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,026
    Location:
    Mexico
    Found a way to retain resizing, hiding and sorting columns in the sandman.exe gui, even resizing and positioning sbie+ notifications pop up:
    1. Set all adjustments to my liking.
    2. Close main gui and notifications pop up.
    3. Manually exit sandman gui by right-click on tray icon then click exit.
    4. Restart the machine.

    Weird I had to do all those steps, no?
    That's why you asked if I was leaving the main gui opened before restarting my computer right?
     
  3. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    @DavidXanatos 0.5.2 plus all still working.
    - Groups still not working. Created new group in context menu, then try to move a box in it, still saying move to: none
    - Sorting seems fixed now. Exited box, still sorted. Restart sort OK. However it still keeps popping up, when windows starts, it doesn't stay minimized to notification area. (I can try still, if it saves also when exiting with new start and update)
    - GUI Icons look nice, winterlike, with the snowflake. ;)

    You should decide about the workload for the update strategy IMO. If you think the ZIP manual update is working and it is not much more work to keep all in control, go for it. I would just go ahaed as now, as you release quite frequent. In case you want to stretch that, some inbetween fix in ZIP would work if needed (critical or breaking issue) I suppose it would be GUI related, not drivers.
     
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,026
    Location:
    Mexico
    You have two startup entries for sandman gui. Run task manager then startup tab and see.
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,762
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thanks for the info. It's interesting to know that Sandboxie Plus and Classic share the core components, but I assume this also means that the SBIE Classic version will never be "weakened" protection wise?

    To be clear, I don't mean this in a harsh way, but I know that in the Plus version you are adding certain features which in theory may introduce bugs, or may weaken protection because of less strict sandboxing, or am I seeing this wrong?
     
  6. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    Good call :thumb: Didn't think about that.
    Though I wonder now, I see the setting adds to registry (...run). However I had it also in autostart menu, but don't recall to have added it myself. Will see, if reg works. Sysinternals is still a nice tool, to have all.
     
  7. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    200
    Location:
    uk
    As a long time user of Classic with immediate recovery, I am used to having options to "recover & run", "recover & explore", and another I can't now recall. With immediate recovery enabled in Plus. I can't seem to find these. Am I missing them, or are they missing?
     
  8. Sandboxer

    Sandboxer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2020
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Sydney
    I can't launch Vivaldi with Sandboxie anymore (not plus, Windows 10 Pro 19042.685, 64 bit, desktop).

    * With Sandboxie 5.45.0 installed, I was able to run Vivaldi 3.5.2115.73 in a sandbox, no problems.

    * I installed the new version 3.5.2115.81 of Vivaldi.
    --- I uninstalled Sandboxie 5.45.0, leaving Sandboxie.ini untouched, and rebooted.
    --- I then paused ESET Internet Security, and installed the new Sandboxie 5.45.1, and rebooted.

    * Now all my four sandboxes are there, and I can launch Firefox 84.01 within a Sandbox.
    --- But when I launched sandboxed Vivaldi 3.5.2115.81, the cursor stuttered, and nothing happens.
    --- This behaviour was the same whether I tried to launch a webpage, or just tried to launch Vivaldi.

    * I then reinstalled the old version 3.5.2115.73 of Vivaldi, and everything was normal again with launching Vivaldi in a sandbox --- except that I am now running an old version of Vivaldi).

    * I cannot tell you whether Vivaldi 3.5.2115.81 contains a new version of Chromium, because Vivaldi's announcements of new versions, version numbers, release dates and change lists has become badly confused.
    --- But a 'Desktop snapshot' (beta version) 2137.3 released on 2020-12-15, one day before the stable version that I downloaded, says that it 'bumps our Chromium backend to 88'.

    So things is crook in Tallarook, and it looks as if another update of Chromium may again have knocked out launching Vivaldi in Sandboxie. @DavidXanatos, you;ve been working so hard on this project, and I'm sorry to add to your troubles. Merry Christmas.
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,059
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ from my Plus 0.5.2 UI. I cannot Enable Immediate Recovery. When I click Apply. The checkbox is cleared?
    png_8431.png png_8432.png
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,689
    Location:
    UK
    @Sandboxer
    To see what Chromium build you are using click on the V top left of Vivaldi browser and select Help then About.
     
  11. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,171
    Location:
    Viena
    oh indeed... will be fixed in the next build
     
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,059
    Location:
    .
    I'm not familiar with Immediate Recovery. I've only run Quick Recovery.
    ~ as test - I've enabled Immediate Recovery. Where is Recover & Run, Recover & Explore and another?
    png_8454.png png_8447.png
    png_8450.png png_8455.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2020
  13. Harper

    Harper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2020
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Nowhere
    SBİE2103 Denied attempt to load system driver.

    I am trying to install the LeapDroid program. But I get the above warning. The error points me to the website, but the solution there is no longer valid, I guess. I'm a new sandboxie user. What should I do?
    Thanks.
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,059
    Location:
    .
  15. Harper

    Harper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2020
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Nowhere
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,059
    Location:
    .
    I'm not familiar with LeapDroid program. When LeapDroid is installed on real system. You may be able to sandbox LeapDroid main executable. IDK
    Edit: @Harper
    installer run in Shadow Mode rendered error at the end of install...I'm not familiar -
    png_8461.png
    ran VirtualBox.exe in default sandbox -
    png_8463.png
    and with Start -
    png_8464.png
    I guess we're back to > Drivers and Services cannot be installed inside Sandboxie -
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2020
  17. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    748
    Or you run an application sandboxed or you run it virtualized. Running a virtual machine sandboxed is just crazy.
     
  18. Sandboxer

    Sandboxer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2020
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks again, @stapp.
    * Vivaldi 3.5.2115.73 (which works with Sandboxie 5.45.1) uses Chromium 87.0.4280.88 .
    * Vivaldi 3.5.2115.81 (which doesn't work for me with Sandboxie 5.45.1) uses Chromium 87.0.4280.107 .
    So there is no 'bump to Chromium 88' yet in the stable version of Vivaldi.
     
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,059
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ @Sandboxer - as test - default Vivaldi 3.5.2115.81 install + Vivaldi shortcut Run Sandboxed - Default sandbox - 5.45.1 (Plus 0.5.2)
    png_8463.png png_8464.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2020
  20. Sandboxer

    Sandboxer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2020
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Sydney
    Solved --- thanks @_bjm and @stapp.
    Once again I installed Vivaldi 3.5.2115.81 over the top of Vivaldi 3.5.2115.73.
    This time Vivaldi runs works perfectly in Sandboxie 5.45.1.
    So my apologies for the false alarm. The mysteries of computing.
     
  21. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    200
    Location:
    uk
    BJM
    upload_2020-12-26_10-20-45.png
    If you run Classic and click on the little blue icon I have highlighted from your screenshot, the Recover button changes/cycles through Recover & Run, Recover & Explore, Recover. It's not an options box as such.

    I don't have classic installed ATM.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2020
  22. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,023
    Sandboxie Plus version 0.5.2

    Help > About Sandboxie-Plus: link https://sandboxie-plus.com/ does not seem to work (timed out).

    EDIT: looks like a Firefox-related issue because no problems with MS Edge Chromium and Safari (iOS).
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2020
  23. Harper

    Harper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2020
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Thank you for trying. :) You are more experienced and knowledgeable than me. Do you think it is safe to install LeapDroid? Can I install it to the system itself?
     
  24. HIPSter

    HIPSter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Having the ability to re-install specific older builds and scan them at Virustotal is a far superior option. Please don't do this.
     
  25. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,059
    Location:
    .
    Yes, I C ...my bad . I'd never used. I'd forgotten.
    png_8470.png png_8471.png png_8472.png
    If you have Plus installed - you have Classic installed. Plus SandMan and Classic SbieCtrl install with Plus installer.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.