Release 14 doesn't work for me

Discussion in 'Returnil releases' started by Nyte, Jul 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Hi,

    I installed rel 14 over the existing rel 13. All went good until I rebooted the system. Returnil didn't load and I got the following message:

    Returnil System Safe 2011 core system is not available!

    I tried a clean install and the same happend. A repair-install also didn't work.

    Tried to start the appropriate service manually but it didn't work.

    Running Win7 - SP1, Avast IS (6.0.1203) and PrevX (3.0.5.220).

    Never had these problems before. Rel 13 is running smooth.

    Hopefully you have a solution for me.
     
  2. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi NyteWysh,
    Can you open a support ticket at support (dash) tech (at) returnil (dot) com so we can explore this in greater detail by getting the troubleshooting logs from your system? We will ask you to perform the installation again and if the same happens, get the appropriate logs we need to take a closer look.

    Thanks
    Mike
     
  3. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Hi Mike,

    Just sent the mail you asked for to the support.
     
  4. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry about the delay - sometimes the system is slower than at other times. We have the report in the system and have sent a reply with instructions on how to find the logs.

    Mike
     
  5. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    No problem at all, Mike.

    I'll read the mail tomorrow (Saturday) because it's 12p.m. here in Germany and I want to sleep now.

    Thanks again for the quick support.
     
  6. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,
    We have sent an update to your support ticket and need you to try the test the lead proposes to see if our suspicions are in-line with your issue report.

    The gist of this is that there may be a new issue with PrevX that we need to investigate. We have had reports in the past that there was some form of compatibility issue when a new build of PrevX is released so we need to test on a system with the problem to verify if this is indeed the root cause in your situation.

    Thanks in advance
    Mike
     
  7. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Hi Mike,

    Thanks for the update. Answered the support earlier this evening that I will get in contact with them tonight or tomorrow.

    Excellent support btw :)
     
  8. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Hi Mike,

    Any updates regarding my issue? Did not hear anything new since two days.
     
  9. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    The team is still investigating the problem. Are you able to confirm a complete uninstall of all PrevX files and changes when you did the test?

    This question is just to confirm that there were no remnants left that MIGHT, have an effect so they can also test this as a possibility...

    Mike
     
  10. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Hi Mike,

    I am pretty sure that I did a complete uninstall of Prevx, but I will do the complete procedure again tomorrow. I will have a special eye on remnants.
     
  11. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Hi Mike,

    I did a clean uninstall of PrevX again. No remnants left in the folders or registry. The reported issue still remains.
     
  12. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    maybe try their removal tool
    http://info.prevx.com/removaltool.asp
     
  13. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Even after using the removal tool the issue still exists.
     
  14. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    OK - thanks. The lead has been updated

    Mike
     
  15. jna90

    jna90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    I have the exact same problem as Nytewysh.
    The build before this did install and worked but the new build did not.
    I have installed Windows 7 32-bit from scratch with all updates and service pack 1.
    The problem is the same.
    Btw, I don't have the free version, I have purchased a pro license.
    But I can not get the new build registered because I get: ' Returnil System Safe 2011 core system is not available! '

    My system:
    Windows 7 32-bit SP1
    Eset Smart Security 4.2.71.2 (antivirus + firewall)
     
  16. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  17. jna90

    jna90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Posts:
    2
  18. Rodimus

    Rodimus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    I had exactly the same issue when I installed the latest build of RSS directly over R13. Then It works again if I install R14 after a complete uninstall of RSS first.
     
  19. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    I also tried a fresh install but I got the same error. I will wait for Rel. 15 which hopefully solves the problem.
     
  20. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    If you use external USB disks, did you check their operation after installing Rel. 14? Any problem when you "eject" them securely?
     
  21. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    @Coldmoon

    Any updates available? Could the Team reproduce the problem?
     
  22. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,
    Yes, this has been reproduced and should be resolved in REL15. At the moment, I do not have a release date for the next build but will update this thread when I have more information about the schedule.

    Mike
     
  23. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Thanks Mike!

    I'll wait for Rel. 15 now.
     
  24. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Quick update:

    I find out the Acronis TI is the culprit. After creating a "secure zone" the problem appears again. After deleting the secure zone all was ok.

    I have informed the tech-support.
     
  25. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi NyteWysh,
    We received the report. Can you provide a step-by-step description of the entire process and the results so the engineering team can reproduce your setup in the lab (same question in the support ticket reply)?

    Thanks in advance
    Mike
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.