ReHIPS

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by MrBrian, May 24, 2014.

  1. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,054
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    so just google for some malware sample sites, not difficult to find. Some youtests has been done on ReHIPS, no bypass yet.
     
  2. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    You can find some on testmyav and also the other forum but you have to make 100 posts on the other forum to get at the samples.
     
  3. SHvFl

    SHvFl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Posts:
    817
    Exciting news from the developers.
     
  4. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,054
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    this is major !

    Also folder's isolation will be implemented.
     
  5. SHvFl

    SHvFl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Posts:
    817
    More news from the developers as promised.
     
  6. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,054
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Nice !
     
  7. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,054
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Explanations of ReHIPS Modes:

     
  8. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Just out of curiosity. Do you think this will be another program the US government stops using? Like they did with Kaspersky?
     
  9. SHvFl

    SHvFl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Posts:
    817
    Usa government doesn't use rehips as far as i know and rehips is tiny and irrelevant to them. If one day rehips was like kaspersky, which is not a likely scenario for a default deny program, then maybe but who knows. It's not a valid scenario honestly.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,321
    Does anyone really think any govt people could ever wrap their minds around ReHips. Almost kinda funny to think about it.
     
  11. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Was just wondering. Guess it home page just mentions ReHips meets the requirements of C2-level security of the U.S Department Of Defense, it doesn't say they actually use it. I read too much into it. https://rehips.com/en/
    Right in technology box.
     
  12. SHvFl

    SHvFl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Posts:
    817
    It's like a security level of some sort. Like me saying i have Top Secret security clearance and a license to kill. It doesn't really mean i will kill :p
     
  13. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Ah I see just a marketing theme.
     
  14. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,054
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    no you didn't understood.

    Windows is the one meeting the requirements. Since ReHIPS uses only Windows' own security mechanism, so it inherits those requirements.
     
  15. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,713
    Now I need to try ReHIPS again. I am also running Appguard so may need some help. :p
     
  16. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,054
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    @Trooper Then just add this ReHIPS process : "hipsagent64.exe" to AG's Power Apps.

    also in Guarded Apps > folder > Settings you can add C:\rehips as "private."
    and in User Space , you can also add it with the YES tag
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,713
    Power apps? You mean Guarded Apps?

    Also the reason I need to retry it is because of performance related issues.
     
  18. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,054
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    no Customize > Advanced > Power Apps ( the goal is to whitelist ReHIPS in AG)
     
  19. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,713
    Doh! Thanks. Have never checked that tab out yet lol.
     
  20. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    505
    Do you have Power Apps in the Personal version of AppGuard?
     
  21. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,238
    Location:
    USA
    Firefox blocks ReHIPS download just when the download is about to finish. Firefox says, "this file is disgusted as a helpful download, but it can make unexpected changes to your programs and settings". "You can search for an alternate download source, or try again later". I downloaded the installer from their website https://rehips.com/en/
     

    Attached Files:

  22. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,296
    If you have SRP which is what AppGuard provides, isn't ReHIPS redundant?
     
  23. SHvFl

    SHvFl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Posts:
    817
    False positive from google safe thingy.
     
  24. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,238
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe someone can report this to the developer if it has not been already. I'm not a member of their forum.
     
  25. SHvFl

    SHvFl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Posts:
    817
    Fixer fixed it a thousand times. They keep fixing it every time we report and then a few days later they again mark the file the same way.