ReHIPS

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by MrBrian, May 24, 2014.

  1. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
    @paulderdash
    There already is beta-tester not just a discount, but completely free keys. Everyone in Active Testers group on ReHIPS forum gets a license key and access to testing subforum with more topics, discussions and beta builds.
    We'll definitely make some loyalty program like each renewal will be slightly cheaper than the previous one. But I'm not sure of exact details and when.
    It's also possible to get licenses for some help. For example translations into other languages. But translations have to be supported as wordings sometimes change, new items are added, etc. So as long as translation is supported, we keep prolonging the license.
    In other words, there are ways to get a license, we aren't that scary :)

    P.S. Happy New Year everybody!
     
  2. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,168
    It's EUR 54.16 where I live. I'm definitely not willing to pay that much money for a one-year licence, so I'll pass.
     
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,682
    Location:
    Mexico
    Happy New Year !!!!
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    Happy New Year !
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,885
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thanks @ReHIPS (fixer?) :thumb:. I was quite active at one time, reporting issues running alongside GlassWire, but that was some time ago now! I haven't actively used ReHIPS in a while.

    I have a new (8th Gen Intel) machine, and would like to get involved again, once I have set it up. I think my paid license is still valid for now.
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I find that way too expensive. I'm a poor College Student again so ReHIPS will have to wait.
     
  7. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,422
    With the free version, you can do everything except run Chrome and Firefox isolated with all your extensions/addons. Believe me, the anti-exe and command line parsing and application control that you get in ReHIPS is more than enough to keep you safe and sound, even if you don't isolate those browsers. Not trying to make @ReHIPS lose revenue, but the free version is great, IMHO.

    I am an active beta tester for ReHIPS, so I sort of know what I am talking about...
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2018
  8. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    You can run it as HIPS and never have to run the sandbox. Running the sandbox is entirely optional....

    And if you do need to run a sandbox, free Windows apps exist to do it. Shade Sandbox is free and lets you run multi-process browsers in a virtual environment without the 10 process limit imposed by the ReHIPS freeware version. Then there's Sandboxie.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    ReHIPS is sandboxing first, it was the main purpose, the anti-exe is part of the monitoring mechanism to allow sandboxing or not. If you don't need a sandbox, just use a classic anti-exe like ERP.
     
  10. jacemace

    jacemace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Hi, going to update to rehips 2.3.0 today - downloaded the exe file from rehips.com - but I was wondering that if version 2.3.0 didn't work well on my computer, I would like a copy of version 2.2.0 for back up installation. I could not find rehips 2.2.0 on rehips.com, so I downloaded v2.2.0 from rehips.en.uptodown.com/windows/download - is this a legit download site? the 2.2.0 exe in zip file form is 34.89 mb - for reference, the rehips version 2.3.0 exe in zip form from rehips.com is 33.63 mb. Virustotal says rehips version 2.2.0 from rehips.en.uptodown.com/windows/download is clean 0/67 from previous scan by someone one and a half months ago; and 0/64 on virustotal scan by me right now. But I would like a second opinion from here that this a legitimate version of rehips 2.2.0 from rehips.en.uptodown.com/windows/download.

    Thank you.

    PS - I have been using rehips a while, and left it in the learning mode - I used the settings today, and ticked the box to show pop ups for terminated processes. When cleanmem.exe was terminated and shown in the rehips pop up, I was concerned - but then I realized cleanmem had done it's function and terminated itself. It does not mean it was terminated, and didn't function - the rehips pop up would say blocked. Also, in the settings of rehips 2.2.0, it says chrome is isolated, but not firefox - but in the edit isolated environment firefox, it says firefox is isolated - how do i isolate firefox?

    Thank you again,


    Jace.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2018
  11. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
    Hello, jacemace.

    Thank you for your interest in our product. You can always download old ReHIPS versions from the official site, link for 2.2.0 is https://rehips.com/ReHIPSSetup 2.2.0.zip and that's the best way. But if you download it from some other source, though we can't guarantee its safety, at least check for a valid digital signature.

    "terminated" means "exited", so nothing to worry about here.

    As far as I remember, default rule for Firefox is to isolate it. That's why there is an isolated environment with firefox.exe bound to it. But maybe you changed it to Allow. Bound and isolated are slightly different concepts, I have them described in this blogpost https://forum.rehips.com/index.php?topic=9564.0 If it's the case and you have firefox.exe bound, but allowed, just edit firefox.exe settings, change it from Allow to Allow in isolated environment.

    Best regards, fixer.
     
  12. 71Darrin

    71Darrin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Hey I have a question here, I am trying out ReHips and upon install I get two windows popping up the first says "failed to logon on isolated environment deletion" and immediately after that another window says "failed to create user environment". Also says "Processing of internet explorer failed", and same thing for firefox, pale moon, seamonkey, and Microsoft Office. Does anybody know what may be causing this and how do I fix this? Thanks
     
  13. jacemace

    jacemace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Big problems with rehips 2.2.0 - first of all,I moved explorer and firefox to isolated, and then got the error that rehips could not find the exe file (I'm sorry. I can't remember the exact error phrasing because I just checked my screenshots folder, and rehips blocked that screen shot for some reason) - but did not block the next screenshot I took of winpatrol saying rehips will no longer autostart - and that is the next problem; I unistalled rehips with revo uninstaller, and rehips unistaller just hung for ages, non stop - I looked at it in process hacker, and rehips service 64 was just hanging with massive i/o - I should have taken a screenshot of rehips in process hacker but didn't. I terminated rehips service 64 in process hacker and continued the uninstallation - hopefully everything works out. The problems were putting internet explorer and firefox into isolation, and rehips could not find them; I forget the exact phrasing, as the screenshot I took didn't turn out - and uninstalling rehips with revo uninstaller, and the service rehips 64 hangs with massive i/o's. I also reset rehips settings; that did nothing and did not work.

    PS - I am going to install rehips 2.3.0 - hope everything works out. Can someone post a (video preferably) tutorial on how to place broswers in isolation (firefox, internet explorer, etc.) for rehips 2.3.0 and rehips 2.2.0

    Thanks,

    Jace.
     
  14. jacemace

    jacemace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Installed rehips 2.3.0 - iexplorer now runs in the isolated environment - it has been such a long time that I have been using rehips, that I totally forgot what the isolated environment looks like - it comes up, gives a message info bubble in the bottom right corner, with control alt i options, and a tick box to disable info bubble, which I do not - it also gives you the rehips tiny box with rehips name logo, and opposing left right arrows below, and two side by side little boxes within below that, one red and one clear with the rehips image shield behind - and the background wallpaper is gone. I am not going to put browsers in isolation, because I like rehips, and do not want it to foul up. As usual, the install took a while because of the command prompt box - rehips 2.3.0 in learning mode is just installed, and working.

    Updated info - chromium started in an isolated rehips environment and crashed the extensions - I have moved it from isolated to allow - also got the pop up warning of reached limit, buy license. But I left the rehips appdata folder in isolated, in case this prevents chromium from starting by setting chromium rehips appdata folder to allow.

    More info - I have a safe mode version of seamonkey I run when my extensions in chromium and/or firefox cause website display issues - seamonkey in safe mode is isolated in rehips 2.3.0, with the red border.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2018
  15. jacemace

    jacemace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Very big rehips 2.3.0 problem - firefox isolated in rehips prevents typing in the isolated firefox browser, in search bars like google or the url bar - have to take firefox out of rehips isolated environment - too bad, I liked it there; it did not crash the firefox add ons.
     
  16. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,422
    Guys, if you want help from the dev, please post on his forum
    https://forum.rehips.com/index.php?board=2.0
    Otherwise he might be very slow to respond, or might not even see the thread. He doesn't read other forums very often.
     
  17. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
    Replied 71Darrin in PM, most likely some other software is interfering with ReHIPS.

    Hello, jacemace. Sorry my response took some time since I don't browse other forums on a daily basis. To get a faster answer, email or ReHIPS forum are adviced, that way we'll usually get to it in less than 24 hours.

    ReHIPS 2.3.0 has quite several bugs fixed and a lot of improvements. So it's recommended to use 2.3.0.

    Not sure how revo uninstaller works, so I can't tell anything about it. But standard uninstallation from Control Panel->Programs is supported by ReHIPS and should work. During uninstallation HIPSService removes all isolated environments (if you choose so) and it indeed may take some time causing some I/O as most of this removal is from HDD. Haven't encountered any hangs on this stage, but if you can reproduce this, we'll be grateful and gladly investigate this issue.

    Chromium (or any other chromium-based browser) extensions are crashing most likely because of demo limit. You see, demo limitation is 10 concurrently running isolated processes. Each extension is usually a separate isolated process+bare chromium itself with 1 active tab uses for about 4-6 processes (depends on version and some internal stuff)+each active tab is usually 1 more isolated process.

    Could you describe more about isolated firefox issue?
    1. What OS do you have?
    2. What exactly firefox version do you use?
    3. You're using ReHIPS 2.3.0?
    4. Do you use firefox rules installed by default or did you change anything?
    5. This search bar and URL bar you can't type in are standard or some extensions?
    6. How exactly you can't type in them, you press buttons on your keyboard, but nothing happens, cursor just keeps blinking and no symbols appear?

    Thank you for your time.
    Best Regards, fixer.
     
  18. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,682
    Location:
    Mexico
    For those interested. There's a live contest/giveaway at MDL forums:
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/giveaway-contest-for-5-licenses-of-rehips.76727/#post-1423388
     
  19. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
    Hello everybody.

    We proudly present to you release of ReHIPS 2.4.0 DOWNLOAD As usual there are lots of changes.

    We'd like to express our sincerest and deepest gratitude to beta-testers and other guys (and gals?), who tested, reported problems, endured remote debugging sessions, gave suggestions and really helped a lot to fix issues and shape ReHIPS as it is now. Thank you all very much, we really appreciate it.

    Enjoy this release. And as usual, don't hesitate to contact me should you have any questions or suggestions.

    Changelog:
    -implemented fine-grained children processes filtering;
    -process and wildcard are combined;
    -process exit code added to the log;
    -fixed bug with multiple trusted users;
    -added mitigations and reduced privileges;
    -isolated desktops close buttons are slightly changed;
    -fixed screenshots of isolated desktops;
    -mirrored windows can be minimized;
    -click on active tab minimizes the window;
    -agent is registered as shell and taskbar;
    -minimized windows are moved outside of desktop;
    -no alerts are shown in permission mode;
    -files and folders permissions can be reset after reboot;
    -wildcarded rules can be skipped if no matching program is found;
    -fixed network filtering on service unexpected crash;
    -new and existing RulesManager rules are merged;
    -missing rules are installed even for bound programs;
    -process file handle is cached;
    -parent process name is correct even after rename;
    -files copy to user profile folder for Open File Access are autosaved now;
    -on Service restart and external database change critical files permissions are reset;
    -fixed foreground window detection (it can be invisible);
    -fixed long timeouts during multiple connections to Service;
    -added isolated processes elevation block option;
    -implemented process network filtering;
    -added clock to isolated desktops taskbar;
    -added basic support for tray notification icons on isolated desktops;
    -Agent fonts changed to standard;
    -installer checks whether an older version is being installed;
    -first start window fixed and improved;
    -first start window size is automatically calculated;
    -added several programs and trusted command lines/vendors to RulesManager;
    -some other small fixes and improvements (check for executable file, fixed bug with trust for non-executable files, first run window shadow overlaps all windows, etc.).
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    Nice, congratulation for the release :)
     
  21. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,422
    Congrats!
     
  22. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,682
    Location:
    Mexico
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    https://forum.rehips.com/index.php?topic=11394.0
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,885
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I bought a license on 2 June 2017 and hardly used it, but I suppose it has expired - is it annual?

    May give it another go on another machine. Maybe free is enough for me ...
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    if activated, yes. once activated the GUI show you the expiration date
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.