ReHIPS

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by MrBrian, May 24, 2014.

  1. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,913
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  2. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
    Hello everybody and Merry Christmas.

    We proudly present to you release of ReHIPS 2.3.0 DOWNLOAD As usual there are lots of changes.

    We'd like to express our sincerest and deepest gratitude to beta-testers and other guys (and gals?), who tested, reported problems, endured remote debugging sessions, gave suggestions and really helped a lot to fix issues and shape ReHIPS as it is now. Thank you all very much, we really appreciate it.

    Enjoy this release. And as usual, don't hesitate to contact me should you have any questions or suggestions.
     
  3. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,761
    @ReHIPS Merry Christmas.

    I just did an over the top install, and apparently it doesn't needs a reboot to complete the install.

    ReHips_v2.3.0_install_02.JPG > ReHips_v2.3.0_install_04.JPG
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    lol @Tarnak you are quite fast :argh: :thumb:
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,761
    I am... "Johnny-on-the-spot" . :argh:
     
  6. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
    Yup, we tried our best to make everything (install, update, uninstall, etc.) reboot-less. But sometimes reboot is necessary though, but it's a way Windows handles some things, so nothing we can do here.

    You may want to read this blogpost entry https://forum.rehips.com/index.php?topic=9742.0 , if you've been using RulesManager and updating from an older version.

    BTW, forgot to add changelog. Here it is.
    -wildcards are ready;
    -all top level windows are now mirrored on all desktops;
    -added custom taskbar on isolated desktops;
    -added restricted token, which allows to use main desktop without danger of DLL injection with allowed hooks;
    -user SID is shown in isolated environment;
    -made rules in RulesManager disablebale;
    -fixed process isolation with UAC and UIAccess;
    -separate isolated desktops can be globally disabled;
    -hashes were changed to more informative entities;
    -fixed Windows bug with non-shown icon (default icon) for RulesManager (see blogpost about this bug here https://forum.rehips.com/index.php?topic=9496.0);
    -agent injects DLL asynchronously now, it removes queue and waiting time;
    -desktops widget could be closed with UAC disabled, fixed;
    -clients close socket immediately, speeds up socket server part shutdown;
    -all the data is read before socket shutdown, fixed error with incorrect server connection code;
    -blocked access to several new Windows 10 locations;
    -Open File Access feature security improved;
    -Copy User Data feature security improved;
    -custom recycle bin added not to loose files involved in Open File Access;
    -RulesManager registry now supports wildcards * and ?;
    -Copy User Data metadata is now available not to copy the same data several times;
    -string comparison is locale-independent now;
    -some isolated processes were missing from the list;
    -some rare deadlock was possible during processes processing;
    -DLL may not be injected after Service restart;
    -fixed Windows bug with printing and devices list (see blogpost about this bug here https://forum.rehips.com/index.php?topic=9713.0);
    -DLL may not be injected into some processes due to race condition;
    -rules could be installed for a user with wrong SID;
    -carriage return wasn't correctly covered by wildcard in trusted command lines;
    -improved installed software detection;
    -rare deadlock due to race condition on shutdown was fixed;
    -added several programs and trusted command lines/vendors to RulesManager;
    -added Spanish translation (thanks to Mr.X);
    -real user whose rule was enforced is now output;
    -isolated windows border and color make their comeback to the settings;
    -moved help file to CHM;
    -Lock-Down Mode can be changed from tray menu;
    -ReHIPS folder can be opened from tray menu;
    -isolated processes list update on GUI startup was missing;
    -some other small fixes and improvements (confirmation prompt to remove several programs from database, HWID is automatically passed on Buy, etc.).
     
  7. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,422
    Thanks fixer, great job!
     
  8. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,682
    Location:
    Mexico
    @ReHIPS

    Thanks for this release...
     
  9. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
    @Mister X
    Thanks for your translation ;)
     
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    Does ReHIPS have a trial?
     
  11. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
  12. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, Thank you. I will take a look at the thread you referenced. I'm not sure if that is enough processes to isolate for a trial, or not if it isolates vulnerable system processes also.
     
  13. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,422
    You will feel the limitation only if you run a multi-process browser in isolation. That will probably push you over the limit. That means Chrome and the new Firefox.
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,761
    I just booted up short time ago, and loaded Vivaldi browser, not in an isolated environment which was what I preferred. I then got these popups in quick succession. I had seen this happen before with the previous version of ReHIPS v2.2.0, but had never reported it until now.

    ReHips_v2.3.0_Bad image_01.JPG > ReHips_v2.3.0_Bad image_02JPG.JPG
    > ReHips_v2.3.0_Bad image_03.JPG
     
  15. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I use Firefox, and Chrome. I do a lot of research so I usually have both browsers open so I don't have too many tabs open in the same browser. It keeps me from overloading the browser. I may try it, and see if I think it's worth purchasing a license. I'm not sure it would be a good ideal using it with Bouncer.
     
  16. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,422
    You can take chrome and firefox out of isolation, if you wish, and run a single-process browser in isolation just to see how it works.
    My opinion may be a little heretical, but I think that the anti-exe and application control of ReHIPS is so good, you don't even need the isolation.
     
  17. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I'm testing NoVirusThanks OsArmor right now. I may give ReHIPS a try after i'm done. Thanks!
     
  18. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,885
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Hmm ... trying to decide between ReHIPS and Sandboxie on my new laptop.

    More familiar with Sandboxie. I haven't used ReHIPS for quite some time so would have to go through the 'learning curve' again.
     
  19. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,422
    ReHIPS works much better now than in the early versions. Might be worth a try. You can enable real desktop for all isolated apps, it is a new setting. (If you are a total paranoid, don't enable it.)
     
  20. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    I've checked the rehips order page and it's £50 ($ 69) for a 1 year licence. Do the rehips users here think it's worth paying that much every year for this software?
     
  21. ReHIPS

    ReHIPS Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Europe
    @askmark
    The only price we have set is in USD, that is $49.75. Plus additional taxes, but they depend on region and it's laws, I guess. Conversion to other currencies is managed by selling platfrom, that is share-it. Sometimes I get questions like why prices don't match. Honestly I have no idea, on one hand. On the other hand, you can cycle through currencies and try to choose the most lucrative one :)
     
  22. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,422
    Try the free version, run a single-process browser to get the hang of it, and then decide if it is worth the $$ to you.
    Or run the full version in VM. As far as I know, you can do that for free, permanently, using one of the standard VM licences that the dev has provided.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I find it to expensive even in CAD Funds for a year and only one device. I would like to try but not the limited version, but can't justify buying for the 2 PC's I have at that price.

    2017-12-30_13-32-32.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2017
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,885
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Unfortunately, cost is probably the decider for me also.

    I have a couple of lifetime Sandboxie licences, and a paid ReHIPS, but it's a bit steep in South African Rand on an annual basis, especially in a layered set-up, though proponents would argue it's all one would need (besides imaging ;) ) if properly set up.

    I guess they are after Enterprise market, rather than personal.

    It would be nice if there was some sort of beta-tester or loyalty discount, but it's their decision, of course.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2017
  25. oZone

    oZone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Earth
    You could use both, sandboxie for browsers and ReHIPS for other
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.