RegistryProt

Discussion in 'DCS Freeware' started by RCGuy, Aug 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCGuy

RCGuy Registered Member

I just recently read in a thread where a program called RegistryProt was highly recommended and considered essential. This is my first time ever hearing about it so obviously my computer isn't protected by it.

What I'm asking in this thread is that the people who know about and/or use this progam, to please give feedback about this program. Also, could you please let me know whether or not you have to kind of halfway know what you are doing to be able to properly use this program? I really don't understand the registry, however, I do know that if you make a mistake with it or delete the wrong registry entry that you can mess up your computer. Thanks, and any help given will be appreciated. Also, does this program act as a registry cleaner also? I have the RegCleaner progam installed on my computer, but I really don't use it very much.

2. herbalist

herbalist Guest

RegistryProt is a nice little app that keeps tabs on the most critical parts of your registry and alerts you to changes. It's most useful on the Run, RunOnce, RunServices, sections. I used it for some time. The only reason I'm not anymore is that System Safety Monitor also monitors these areas while doing much more. If I didn't have SSM, I'd still be running RegistryProt. For a while, I ran both of them together until I was sure of SSMs ability to monitor the registry. They got along fine. If you just want basic registry protection and aren't interested or ready to set up a full fledged HIPS program, RegistryProt is worth using. While it's coverage isn't complete, it does work in real time, which offers stronger protection than apps that poll (check on regular intervals) the registry.
    Rick

3. ThunderZ

ThunderZ Registered Member