Registries?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by curious george, Aug 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. curious george

    curious george Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Alright, well I've been wanting to make some portable apps, and I downloaded nCleaner (better then CCleaner apperently) and was searching for its registries. But the thing is, i couldn't find it. I also installed my A-squared, but its registries weren't there either. Anyone know why?
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Remember to check both HKLM and HKCU. Sometimes things put entries in HKCU, but not as often as HKLM. I don't use either app anymore or I would check.

    You can also use InstallRite or similar to do a registry snapshot, then you will know exactly what has been added/modified/deleted. That is the app I use to gather information for doing what you are doing.

    Sul.
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    @all,
    Another registry snapshot utility is RegShot and I like the fact that the program is very small, 89 KB.

    @curious george,
    Head over to PortableApps.com for a slew of popular programs already made portable.
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    No nkprods or emsisoft (perhap's self-contained pe's, you weren't specific)? Concerning ncleaner, better constitutes what?

    S
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2008
  5. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Hello,

    I don't know about nCleaner but I can say too that CCleaner often fails to remove some Crap. For instance, last week I installed a program on my computer, that installed a lot of temporary crap on my pc, and that didn't remove. From 19 GB my disk went to 15 GB. I ran a scan with my 2 Crap cleaning apps, CCleaner and Uniblue SpeedUpMyPC. I ran a scan with CCleaner, 1 GB of crap found. Without removing anything, I ran a scan with SpeedUpMyPC: 4 GB crap found. This happens often, most recently, yesterday, with the Service Pack 3 setup(which silently wrote crap and then said that the setup was corrupted:mad: ), where CCleaner missed 800MB of data.
     
  6. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Would the files missed been less than 48 hours old? This is ticked by default in CCleaner.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Yes...
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    @Han,
    Thank you for bringing up that point. CCleaner incorporates a level of Safety to "ensure that it cannot delete any useful information or documents you may still need" according to their Web site and that's one of the reasons why we can recommend this program to PC users, who might not be tech savvy, desperately in need of a piece of software to clean their systems that will not overwhelm them.
     
  9. curious george

    curious george Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    By "better", I was only stating what the program or another website stated, thus the word "apparently". While searching for it, it stated that nCleaner gave CCleaner the "boot". Whether it is, or is not depends on the user.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.