regdefend, appdefend and defensewall

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ajap, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ajap

    ajap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    hi, if i have installed a firewall, regdefend and appdefend. could i install defensewall? what could i do with these applications?

    regards.
     
  2. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    I think appdefend and DW will conflict. I think they do the same thing in a different way.
     
  3. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Yes, you can install, but it's a bit overkill.
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye u really dont need ALL that...
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    IMHO, keep the firewall, install defensewall and bin the rest.

    Regdefend and Appdefend appear to be no longer supported while Ilya's support is excellent and the program is constantly being updated. Look to the future and use DW.
     
  6. ajap

    ajap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Many thanks to all, I like appdefend and regdefend but will have to make that sacrifice and what about the lightness and hd space occupied, are they equivalent? who takes more hd space ? it's important to me because i'm short of that.
    then have i uninstall ghostwall firewall too ?. what a pity.
    i have a post opened looking for a firewall. the suggestions have been the following: private firewall, looknstop, kerios, outpost, jettico, and zone alarm.
    regards
     
  7. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I would give Defensewall a trial; the latest version is very light in real-time and takes up very little HD space.
    The next version, which will soon be in a beta form will also contain a FW.

    For now, no need to uninstall ghostwall just uninstall RD and AD and give DW a run.
     
  8. ajap

    ajap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    then, will it be ghostwall, avira free and defensewall enought protection ?
    any document to see how to install and get the best configuration for defensewall ?
    thank in advance
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2009
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    defensewall by default is strong already:thumb:
     
  10. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Hi ajap,

    yes it will be more than enough.
    DW is already (by default) configured as jmonge mentioned.
     
  11. ajap

    ajap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    hi creer and thank you very much everyone for your suggestions
    regards
     
  12. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    You are welcome :)
     
  13. ajap

    ajap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    i have given a run to DefenseWall, what do i do now?
    should I change anything?
    regards
     
  14. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Just enjoy! :)
    You don't have to change anything, it's already done by default.
    One more thing - please read DW help file, that's all. :thumb:
     
  15. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Appdefend\Regdefend and DefenseWall work in different ways so I think they complement each other. Whether it is overkill or not depends on your comfort level. I used to run AP/RD but am now using Malware Defender with DefenseWall. There is no longer any support by Jason for AP or RD. MD and DW both have very active developers that regularly visit this forum and respond to questions very quickly. Along with a firewall and Anti-Virus you are pretty much immune from all threats.
     
  16. ajap

    ajap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Malware Defender is a HIPS with firewall. Is there no conflict be using two firewalls?
    if i uninstall ghostwall and install malware defense, what should i change to get the best configuration ?
    if i uninstall ghostwall would it be enough with the firewall of malware defense?
    i am using anvir task manager. should i uninstall it too ?
    i don't know, i need your help.
    regards
     
  17. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    I disable network protection in Malware Defender because I am using Outpost Firewall. The MD default configuration provides good protection. You can do a search in Wilders to get some ideas. MD is very configurable and there have been a lot of good suggestions here. I see no need for anvir if you have MD. You can check the screenshots for MD at: http://www.torchsoft.com/en/md_screenshot.html and see if you want to keep anvir. MD also has a 30-day trial period. So you can use a full working version before you purchase it. Just run it in learning mode first and open close your applications and reboot a few time so MD knows what's on your system.
     
  18. ajap

    ajap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    ok, thanks, I'll search those suggestions because i have had some problems with anvir task manager and ghostwall since i installed defensewall
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.