recovery ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rcbmrb, Jun 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    during backup there were5 files (tib) 1 tib 4 labeled 1,2,3,4 do you recover each one in sequence?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    If they are part of the same backup job, just select the first file (or any of the others) and do one restore. TI knows to use all the files. It should say when you click on it that it is 1 of 5, for example.

    If you do each in sequence, you'll do the same restore five times.
     
  3. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Select any one of them and the full set will be restored.

    Argh ... the MudCrab is quick!
     
  4. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    I did the unnumbered tib then the one numbered 1 will not boot to windows now
     
  5. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    further trying to boot now it goes from dell splash screen with f2 and f12 boot menu to a black screen now
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Is that a Dell with the Media Center feature, if not which model?
    What version of True Image are you using?
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Are you doing a disk or partition restore?

    In other words, when restoring and you get to the screen titled "Partition or Disk to Restore",
    are you tickmarking the disk option; or are you tickmarking only a single partition?
     
  8. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53

    it's inspiron 530 no mediacenter hasxp home I had a problem like I explained where it will boot to dell screen then to black TI ver 11 latest build

    dell has beenhere3 times last timethhey turnedon pc it worked
     
  9. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    the disk option has298 of 320 gb disk what about checking master boot?
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Am not understanding your responses. What I am understanding is that your computer is not booting satisfactorily.

    if your backup was a 'disk" backup type which included all partitions, then my recovery action would be to do a "disk" restore. This is covered in my guides listed on line 2 of my signature.
     
  11. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    yes it is not booting a problem that has been on going it worked twice but mostlynot as a result I have been dealing with Dell on it and feel until thatget'sfixed I can't resore.

    Dell justtold me that they need me to open pc to wiggle partsand when I told them I have a disabilty they sayI have to pay for a local tech who can call them to finish the trouble shoot process. I guess new industry po;icy for wedisabled.

    Anyone know how tocall Michael Dell
     
  12. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    I saw his number once on Google but doubt if it's there now.o_O
     
  13. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    are they in TX do they have any numbers in usdid a google on dell computers got not much everything is india
     
  14. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    on this screen it shows ntfs c and the mbr I would check the ntfs item priv/acct-capacity 298-free space 268- should I check this?

    When I backed up I checked my computer I apologize for my lack of knowledge this is new to me

    also I fixed the boot problem I had and can now restore without using cd
     
  15. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    thanks I found the Texas address and number but when i call it goes to India I wrote a letter
     
  16. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    You should restore the entire disk. You will see a list of partitions, each with a check box to the left, but you should instead check the box which is above the list of partitions to select the entire disk.
     
  17. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    so check both ntfs and mbr?
     
  18. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    No, please read what I wrote. Check the box above that list which selects the entire disk. It will be labelled Disk1 or Disk2 or whatever is correct depending on how many disks it finds.
     
  19. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    at restored partion location screen do i check unallocated or the ntfs c:?

    at restored partion type chevk logical?

    resttored partion size?

    logical drive letter?

    restore options are defalt I assume?

    on the proceed screen it shows 1 tib not all 4

    I'm sorry I just want to be sure
     
  20. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53

    it found two items under disk 1 ntfs which has 26.72 gb and unallocated which has 271.4gb and disk 2 is the drive external holding the archieve
     
  21. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    PUT THE CHECK MARK AGAINST DISK 1!
     
  22. rcbmrb

    rcbmrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    no need to yell if I mess it won't be your computer that is messed up Grover's guide does not cover drive letter etc is it so bad to want to be sure?
     
  23. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Sorry, bud ... thought you were a little "hard of hearing" :D when tuttle wrote twice what you should do and you still asked what to do.
     
  24. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183

    They probably changed it then-don't know what else to tell you-try googling it but don't expect too much but good luck.
     
  25. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Refer to Sample image B-4 in Backup Guide. This shows how to do a "disk" backup.

    Refer Sample image R-6 in Restore guide. This shows how to do "disk" restore providing you have completed a "disk" backup.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.