Recovery: TI Not Seeing Second HD (TI 2337)

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by GetItDone, Jan 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GetItDone

    GetItDone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Just bought TI 9.0 build 2337.

    When testing Recovery, after re-boot, TI does not see the second physical hard drive (and all its partitions) where the image files are stored. Second HD functions well and Image files get stored there with no problem.


    Running XP Prof., fully updated, w/2GB RAM. Second HD is NTFS and was error-checked/repaired.

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2006
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Is the second drive setup as Master INSIDE the desktop case or is it in an external case? You might also want to try booting with the bootable TI cd if you were running TI from within Windows ... or vice versa.
     
  3. GetItDone

    GetItDone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks Chutsman!

    The second HD is internal (both internal drives are SATA, NTFS), and I believe it is a slave to the primary HD. Each of the two hard drives has several partitions.

    When testing the Recovery, I chose to Recover the entire drive, and opted to reboot -- the Acronis-recommended choice. I did not try using A TI bootable CD -- I'll try doing that tomorrow.

    Also, both times I tried performing a recovery (second time after error checking/repairing the second HD), I had little to no mouse capabilities -- and could not, for example, shut off the TI Recovery program (had to turn off the PC and cold-start instead). Is this normal?

    Thanks again!
     
  4. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    After you restore the new drive, don't let it reboot without changing the boot order in bios and unplugging the original drive.
    With sata there is no master/slave, priority is in the bios settings.
    It is always better do do a cold boot after any alterations to your system.
     
  5. GetItDone

    GetItDone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks noonie! But I don't quite follow what you mean:

    Neither SATA drive is 'new' -- the only thing that's new is TI. I believe the drives and boot sequence are properly set in the Bios.

    TI does not 'see' the second drive, which I use for backup storage and where the TI Image is to be found. I'm trying to restore my C drive, just to be sure that TI is properly set and could do what I need when the time comes.

    I will create a bootable disc/CD later on. Could you please re-phrase your comment? THANKS!!!
     
  6. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Because you said "when testing Recovery", we all assumed that you had already done the Recovery. We did not know that you are not yet at that point.

    So it seems that you are simply running TI from within windows and the second drive does not show up in the TI list. Is that right? In that case I would be puzzled too. When you create the Boot CD let us know the result.

    But wait, you said you already have some image files stored on the "unseen" drive. How did they get there? Now I'm puzzled as to your situation.
     
  7. GetItDone

    GetItDone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks again for your comments -- most helpful!

    You have every reason to be puzzled... Here's where I really am: Just created a boot disk and booted using the full boot (first, recommended option). Both my SATA drives were shown, but the drive *letters* were all wrong. Here are three problems I experienced:

    1. Under windows (XP Prof, fully updated), my second HD (partitions X,Y,Z) are clearly detected by TI when creating the image files (scheduled nightly, and get stored in one of these lettered partitions). When doing a Recovery (starting from Windows then re-booting), and also when booting from the newly created TI Boot CD, the X, Y, Z letter partitions are *not* shown. This made me think that the HD is not detected -- but not so. The TI Recovery program (via the Boot CD) shows drive letters C, D, E, F, etc. Where C is the traditional C drive (1st SATA HD), but D is really the X partition, E is the Y partition, and F is the Z partition (all on the second SATA HD). Other drives (CD, DVD, Removable Disks) are not shown at all.

    Is this normal? Common? Why? And, is this a TI problem or a BIOs settings problem?

    2. The TI Boot CD takes you to the TI Recovery program. Immediately, there's an error message stating something to the effect: 'USB C. USB device not accepting new addresses =2.' (Not an exact quote, but very close to it.) I don't know what this means.

    3. When operating under the recovery program, the mouse (MS Intellimouse Explorer 4.0, with wheel, connected via USB port) barely functions -- it can only move up or down, in the center of the screen. Thus I cannot click the X to close a window or terminate the TI Recovery program. In fact, the Ctrl-Alt-Del doesn't work under the TI program either, and the only way I have to get out of this is to shut off the PC power line (can't Tab to the X at the top R of the window). Not very elegant. I think I saw something on this problem on the forum -- is there a solution?

    MANY THANKS!
     
  8. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Okay, the fog is clearing :D ... don't know about the partition letters changing. I can only comment from what I've read here that SATA seems to make it's own set of problems for TI. I don't use SATA. You also have the next most problematic (for TI) piece of hardware - a usb mouse. If you can connect a standard PS2 mouse you should get around the mouse problem. Someone said recently that even connecting a usb mouse to an adapter that goes into the ps2 port worked for him.

    Perhaps others will give you more help with SATA.
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I don't think this is a real problem. XP has your drive letters setup a certain way and when you boot into Acronis standalone either from Windows or the CD the linux system looks at the disk and assigns the letters starting with C. It has no idea what XP or even yourself for that matter has done assigning letters.

    Are you sure your CD isn't there. They are placed at the end of the list after all of the HD partitions are assigned.

    I have 2 SATA drives in my system and I image without problems to them. I do not use USB.

    I have a corded MS optical wheel mouse that came with the USB to PS2 adapter which I use with no problem in TI.
     
  10. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    To help avoid any confusion in future
    In windows, set your optical drives starting at the last letter. cd drive z, dvd drive y, etc. Windows seems to like this better especially if using a card reader with multiple removables. Also apply suitable names to your hard drives to identify them.
    With ti boot cd, use the names given the hdrives to identify them rather than drive letters. Just ignore the drive letters. Less room for error.
     
  11. GetItDone

    GetItDone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Re: Recovery: TI Not Seeing Second HD -- SUCCESS!!!

    Thank you all for your excellent advice! It all worked...

    All partitions were found, optical drives too, and the MS USB mouse 4.0 worked fine with a PS/2 convertor.

    MUCH appreciated!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.