Recovery drive not displayed

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Anselm, Feb 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anselm

    Anselm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Munich
    Hello,

    since Acronis Germany doesn't respond I try to get an answer here.

    I regularly create images with True Image 9.0 build 791 to a separate drive I called volume R:. I made a recovery CD and tested it. Booting with it there are shown volumes C: to F: only. How can volume R: get displayed?

    All of the volumes are:

    C: Hard Disk 1
    D: CD/DVD Drive
    E: CD/DVD Writer
    F: Card Reader
    G: Card Reader
    H: Card Reader
    I: Card Reader
    J: Virtual Drive (VirtualDrive)
    K: Virtual Drive (VirtualDrive)
    N: Notebook Volume C: (WLAN)
    O: Notebook Volume D: (WLAN)
    R: Hard Disk 2 (Backup Volume)

    Thank you in advance,

    Anselm
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Anselm,

    Certain USB memory card readers can sometimes confuse TI. If possible, temporarily disconnect it and try again.

    Regards
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Anselm,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences. We do know about the problems with German Support Team.

    Could you please tell the type of the R: drive (USB, FireWire etc)? Also please try to boot from the "Safe" version of Acronis Bootable CD and see whether your drive is still not available. If it doesn't help please try the "acpi=off noapic" workaround (please see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317 for the instructions).

    If nothing helps please send a letter to support@acronis.com with the link to this thread and we will try to solve the problem.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  4. Anselm

    Anselm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Munich
    Hello,

    the solution was very simple. I didn't notice that the recovery CD doesn't sort the volumes in the usual order. Drive R: (a second hard disk) is displayed as volume D: and I can recover from this one. (The normal version of the revovery CD shows volumes C: to F: and the safe one volumes C: and D: only.)

    A last one question concerning the recovery CD: Is it necessary to renew it sometime? When?

    In case of confusion: I have the German version of True Image on my private PC and the English version on a PC I am in charge of honorarily. That's why I ask very different questions.

    Thank you for helping,

    Anselm
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Anselm,

    We are glad to hear you solved the problem.

    Yes, I can recommend that you create new Acronis Bootable CD for each build of Acronis True Image. However if the current version works fine for you and you are not thinking of any hardware changes the new CD is not necessary.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.