Recovery CD Media for Backup too? Or only for Restore?

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by mattad, Dec 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattad

    mattad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    I prefer to backup and Restore an existing (Win 7) system partition from a CD media rather than from inside a running system itself.

    At first I installed now Paragon Backup & recovery 2012 Free, then started it
    and went to "Tools" section.

    When I read now the "Burn Recovery Media" section then it seems to me that this CD will be ONLY for Restore but not for backup.

    Is this correct?

    No backup possible from booted LiveCD ?

    Matt
     
  2. SplinterCell

    SplinterCell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    You can use it to backup as well. I use my Paragon Backup and Recovery cd to backup sometimes too.
     
  3. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Does Paragon FREE have any ability at all to create a Windows based rescue boot CD that uses the faster window drivers and not the slower linux drivers?
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    No, it makes the Linux-based CD.
     
  5. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Unfortunately there's no option to create your own WinPE disc with the free version of Paragon B&R,not yet anyway.However with other free competitors such as Macrium Reflect and Easeus ToDo having this functionality it may be offered sometime.:doubt:

    You can of course create a BartPE plugin,which although XP-based, does work on Vista and 7(32bit).
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  6. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    That's a big NO for Paragon then. All the other free ones, e.g EaseUS and Marcium offer WinPE. But I wanted to use Paragon because I think only Paragon supports backing up a Linux partition?
     
  7. SplinterCell

    SplinterCell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Speaking of supporting Linux...

    I can browse a backed up archive of a Linux distro (from within Win 7) and extract any file from said archive to anywhere I want. Also, I can browse any Paragon archive from within windows or even the Linux-based CD and extract a file from Windows to my Linux Home folder on an Ext4 partition.

    Paragon is great for multiple OS flavors, but it can't see my BSD's UFS filesystem. :'(

    From what I understand, the reason they don't offer a WinPE version with their free version is because, they'd have to pay a licensing fee to MS. The paid version of B&R is worth every penny because, the WinPE version also has P2P adjust to migrate an OS to new hardware. e.g., Intel to AMD or vice versa. :thumb:
     
  8. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    cheap skates! :thumbd: Even Macrium and EaseUS offer a free VistaPE solution.

    It's just a shame that Marcium and EaseUS don't support Linux.
     
  9. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    While it's true that offering a ready-made WinPE version would require a licensing fee,both Macrium and Easeus allow the user to create their own using WAIK,which costs them nothing.
     
  10. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    For people who have difficulty in understanding imaging and what they are really doing with it the WAIK method is too intimidating. I have done BartPE and WinPE builds for Acronis and while I consider myself relatively PC/Windows aware, I don't consider it an obvious point and click operation. Fortunately once you get setup it is highly automated unless something goes wrong.

    If you are a real Windows hotshot you probably can make your own WinPE CD with Paragon free in it.

    I know some people have tight budgets but considering what it will do for you, is spending the relatively inexpensive price for the full Paragon really all that much of an outlay?
     
  11. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    So why can't Paragon do that?
     
  12. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    That's a good question.It's certainly something that Paragon could offer.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.