Recovering data from damaged/not-last set

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Blutarsky, Mar 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blutarsky

    Blutarsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    148
    Hi there, I'm using True Image Windows 9.1 (3886) trying to recover data from a tib image but getting the statement:

    "This is not the last created volume of the backup archive. Please insert the last created volume to start working with this archive."

    Is there any chance to recover partially data from this set?

    Thanks
     
  2. Blutarsky

    Blutarsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    148
    Any help guys?
     
  3. Blutarsky

    Blutarsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    148
    I've sent a message to ACRONIS support 4 days ago and still not receiving an answer. Is this what users deserve once payed 100$ o_O

    I need data recovery immediately, but no answer neither here @ Wilders neither by email.

    Is Acronis reading this forum?
     
  4. John Dalton

    John Dalton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    London
    You're not going to like this, but the official Acronis response (see Post #7) would seem to be:

    Incomplete backup archives cannot be open in any way. To avoid such situations in future we could recommend you storing several full backups at a time, or at least deleting previous full backup after creation of the new one. You can learn more from the respective chapters of the User's Guide.
     
  5. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    You've probably been doing incrementals or differentials - don't you have the last of these?
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Is this a HD or a DVD archive? If it is a DVD you have to insert the last DVD so TI can read the metadata about the backup.

    If it is on HD, then all the archive tib files have to be in the same folder.

    Usually this problem gives a, "This is not a True Image Archive" error but:
    If you are trying to restore with the TI boot CD then make sure you are using a CD with the same build that was used to create the archive. Depending on the build number CDs created with an earlier build cannot read an archive created with a newer build. It depends on the build numbers.
     
  7. Blutarsky

    Blutarsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    148
    It is a HD archive, full, not incremental.

    Why doesn't Acronis provide a tool to scan the archive?

    Is it because the tib image (in my case) has no "table of contents" so its contents appear to be raw data?

    If this is the case I think they've made a big flop... why shouldn't they leave minimal information in each tib to avoid such cases and allow rebuilds from damaged/partial sets?

    How can I detect the build number from the tib image? And where would I get an older version?
     
  8. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Most people have older versions because they have upgraded through various builds. Since you don't have older ones kicking around this would rule out the issue as a cause.

    I would say your "table of contents" is missing for whatever reason since that is what TI looks for first so it can understand the rest of the backup.

    Can't answer about scanning tools or partial recovery data being included. However, you have some kind of a problem that you need to sort out.

    Is this problem repeatable or was this a one-time problem? Is it an image or a Files and Folders backup?
     
  9. Blutarsky

    Blutarsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    148
    One time. I have other working images that are readable.

    It is a disk image
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.