Recommendation on which dial-up modem to get

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Lazarey, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    I just got a Velocity Micro computer and it does not have a dial-up modem installed. I live way out in the country and the only thing available to me is dial-up.
    I could really use some advice about which modem to get!

    Thanks for reading!

    Edit: I just wanted to add that my new computer doesn't have any serial ports other than the one for a printer.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2007
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
    your isp should supply you with a modem they are all almost the same.
    your unlucky only having dialup
    i dont know what is worse no internet or dialup:D
    lodore
     
  3. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    I've been using my ISP for years. Are you saying that I should be able to call them up and say 'I need a modem"?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,293
    Location:
    Texas
  5. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    But I opted to not have one installed because they were overpriced (in my opinion).
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,293
    Location:
    Texas
  7. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,179
    Location:
    Mass., USA
  8. Arranger

    Arranger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
  9. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Most dialup services don't offer modems to new subscribers unlike some high speed service providers that might. I guess dialup is slow, but then I am always trying to minimize my out of pocket costs as it relates to the internet. I don't do any work requiring high CPU or download speeds. But as I have said before, if the entire WWW were to disappear tomorrow, I can always revert back to my college days routine. :D ;)

    http://www.geeks.com/products_sc.asp?cat=489
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
    ive got a modem in my old pc lol
    lodore
     
  11. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Well, I got lucky! Someone gave me an external modem! It doesn't have any drivers or software with it, just the modem, connecting cable, and power adapter. Do I need the software disk to be able to use it?

    It looks just like this one:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16825137104
    So I'm guessing that it's the same one.

    The problem is that my new PC doesn't have a COM port, just USB, Firewire, and a printer port. Is there some kind of adaptor I can get to change the 9 hole COM from the modem to a USB?
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2007
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
    if its the same as the one in the link its got a serial port.
    so you can use your serial port
    lodore
     
  13. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Both the one on the cable and the one on my computer are female.
     
  14. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.