Recommendation on which dial-up modem to get

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Lazarey, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    I just got a Velocity Micro computer and it does not have a dial-up modem installed. I live way out in the country and the only thing available to me is dial-up.
    I could really use some advice about which modem to get!

    Thanks for reading!

    Edit: I just wanted to add that my new computer doesn't have any serial ports other than the one for a printer.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2007
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    your isp should supply you with a modem they are all almost the same.
    your unlucky only having dialup
    i dont know what is worse no internet or dialup:D
    lodore
     
  3. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    I've been using my ISP for years. Are you saying that I should be able to call them up and say 'I need a modem"?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,803
    Location:
    Texas
  5. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    But I opted to not have one installed because they were overpriced (in my opinion).
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,803
    Location:
    Texas
  7. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
  8. Arranger

    Arranger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
  9. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Most dialup services don't offer modems to new subscribers unlike some high speed service providers that might. I guess dialup is slow, but then I am always trying to minimize my out of pocket costs as it relates to the internet. I don't do any work requiring high CPU or download speeds. But as I have said before, if the entire WWW were to disappear tomorrow, I can always revert back to my college days routine. :D ;)

    http://www.geeks.com/products_sc.asp?cat=489
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    ive got a modem in my old pc lol
    lodore
     
  11. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Well, I got lucky! Someone gave me an external modem! It doesn't have any drivers or software with it, just the modem, connecting cable, and power adapter. Do I need the software disk to be able to use it?

    It looks just like this one:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16825137104
    So I'm guessing that it's the same one.

    The problem is that my new PC doesn't have a COM port, just USB, Firewire, and a printer port. Is there some kind of adaptor I can get to change the 9 hole COM from the modem to a USB?
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2007
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    if its the same as the one in the link its got a serial port.
    so you can use your serial port
    lodore
     
  13. Lazarey

    Lazarey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Both the one on the cable and the one on my computer are female.
     
  14. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.