Really, really dumb questions about Outpost

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Chuck57, Sep 13, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I have Sygate Pro, latest build. Prior to getting it, I tried Outpost and ZoneAlarm. Now, *sigh* all the talk here about Outpost has me interested again -- at least in the free edition. Last time I tried it, I found it took more configuration time and with my wife, ummm, 'asking' me to hurry up so she could get online, I didn't have that time. Our computers are on a direct network through mine, with xp. She has 98se.

    Question: Can Outpost be downloaded and then disabled until I have the time to configure it, when *ahem* I'm alone and have the time. I noticed something on the Outpost page about it not compatible with ICS. Has that been solved? Finally, with Sygate AND ICS, can Outpost be run concurrently with them?

    Before you ask why I would want three firewalls running on a two computer network, I don't know. I like playing with software and figuring things out. Usually, I end up causing more trouble than it's worth, but it's an obsession. Lately, firewalls and browsers are my thing. Now, with the Boss hooked to my machine, I can't afford to have down time.
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Well in regards to the "Boss" issue :D, have you considered a router/gateway? That way you could tinker to your hearts content without affecting her system ;)

    CrazyM
     
  3. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Hi Chuck57. First of all, if you have a lan, you need the Pro version of Outpost. ICS is not supported on XP and Win2k SP2 and SP3 on this version. I use AnalogX Proxy and it works great.
    With Outpost installed you cannot have another firewall installed or you risk conflicts.
    ICS will be fully supported in version 2 and it remains to be seen if the free version 2 will support lans or not.
    Hopefully I will get a beta of version 2 sometime next week and will know more. You might want to wait til then, but if you do, please remind me next week you are waiting.
    If you want to go ahead and try it now, you can install a trial version of the Pro version and use AnalogX Proxy for ICS. It works really well and its free. Some prefer it to ICS.
    I hope I have answered all or questions. :)
     
  4. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Okay, I'll have to read up on proxies. I'm a techno-idiot who now has the time to learn these things. I should have mentioned it took me 2 full days to get 2 computers networked and working. We live in a small village 150 miles one way from any help, so it's learn this stuff by trial and error.

    Thanks for the suggestion and I'll check into Analogx. That sounds like the most logical way for me to go. I might even consider going to church several Sundays. The added help wouldn't hurt.
     
  5. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    It took me two weeks to get my two computer lan working right. :) You don't need to know much about proxies to use AnalogX Proxy. It has a great read me file.

    I live so far out in the boondocks I have my sunshine piped in. The one great thing about the internet is that it takes people lke us out in the middle of nowhere and hooks us up to the rest of the world and help is only a mouse click away. As long as Wilders isn't down.

    Good luck. :D
     
  6. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Since I don't want to *risc* a repeat of unpleasantly snide comments in the OP forum...

    And since root, the bestest of the best OP gurus, frequents wilders.org's forums...

    I will add my own dumb question to this thread. To wit...

    If I am prone sometimes to screw up my settings [rules etc] in OP, is there a particular file that I can back-up & restore when next I foul the waters?

    Peace to all,
    Bellgamin
     
  7. grey_ghost

    grey_ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    60
    aloha belligamin

    Open Outpost and click on the file tab then Save Confuguration or Save Configuration as to save in a different location than the Outpost directory.

    bumby
     
  8. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Hi belligamin. The file in the Agnitum\Outpost Firewall1 directory is configuration.cfg. If you have the Pro version you can do a save as to another directory.
    Please PM me about your unpleasant experience. I know of no one on the forum that would try to be anything other than helpful.
    Please let me know.
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks root & grey_ghost. I am now prepared.

    OP is superb. I anxiously await 2.0's arrival, at which time -- BTGLW -- I'll upgrade to Pro.

    As to the other... as long as wilders is here, I'll be fine. My health precludes dealing with confrontations.

    Peace to all,
    Bellgamin
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.