Real Time Defender, first impressions

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by enthios, Oct 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. enthios

enthios Registered Member

I've been using SSM (paid), for many years, and just finished a 30 day trial of Malware Defender. After having read comments on this forum from people I've come to respect, I installed RTD ver 1, and took a test drive. All I can say (thus far) is Wow. For one who knows whats under the hood and how it SHOULD behave, RTD, is a control freaks dream come true. It's also likely that, like SSM, a HIPS newbie could run RTD, on a clean system, in Learning Mode, for a week, to get up and running safely. I especially like the fact that RTD, uses "plain English" in it's configuration windows. I ran it in Learning Mode, for two days, then turned learning mode off. Pop-ups are Not frequent and are in plain unambiguous English, that even a Luddite (like myself) can understand. A fine piece of work. Hope they keep updating it.

Impression:

Malware Defender, is a better choice for the non-geek, non-engineer type who just wants good protection without having to go back to college for a computer science course.

RTD, offers much finer granular control but takes a modest commitment to a learning curve, to maximize it's potential.

SSM: If you're a serious geek or engineer, SSM is excellent. However the config options are a bit "techy", and the help file does not waste any words in explaining them (IMHO).

--Enthios

2. bellgamin

bellgamin Registered Member

Another consideration -- The individual who developed the RTD version (known originally as ProSecurity) that Enthios likes so much is long gone. He now works (we are told) for Comodo.

Reportedly, RTD has a new owner/developer. RTD has a website that has been either (1) "under construction" OR (2) totally broken -- for months & months & months.