Re Rollback Rx

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by bgoodman4, Mar 27, 2015.

  1. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,131
    It is beginning to sound as if Kurtis is not just some guy who has been hired to try to build some good will for HDS,,,,,that he actually has some clout with HDS management. So Kurtis, can you get the following from the Rx home page fixed?

    The statements in red makes it sound as if Rx is all you need for ANY eventuality and we know this is not the case. Getting HDS to correct these misleading statements will go a long way to repairing the trust issues that have grown over the last few years.
     
  2. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Barry, don't bother asking. Some companies do rely on marketing gimmicks to survive. Folks in here know those statements are not the what they sound like, its the general public that will experience what they have to experience and grow up. This is how real life operates.

    OK, what I am trying to say is, they will not change those statements.
     
  3. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    This is based off software issues, hardware issues, windows updates, those are whole separate issues. In terms of software though, it should be delivering on that, unless you have a specific instance stating otherwise?

    Cheers,
     
  4. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Correct.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    Kurtis, you might well add weather to that list. And that is why I would always recommend users stay away from HDS. Ethics.
     
  6. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Why? Because he asks us to remove wording on our website that's true? Maybe there is an issue, but he doesn't mention a specific instance.

    If a virus affects your computer, it affects Windows, and not RollBack so TRUE. If there is an error that doesn't change the infrastructure of the PC environment, then this is TRUE*, and if software is botched then it can rollback from that so that is also TRUE.

    You want us to change our marketing but I ask you, what part of that isn't true?

    *Except we don't know when a Windows Update will significantly change the infrastructure, you would like us to know and plan ahead? Try to get Microsoft to make these things available to developers WELL before it releases
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    It's true.... sort of. If you watch much tv you will see all kinds of ads for drugs that promise wonders, and then at the end warn you of all the bad stuff that happens. But your website doesn't warn users that any changes in windows could potentially trash rollback.

    In you post above you reveal the huge weakness in Rollback, changes in windows.....
     
  8. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,131
    The stement says very clearly

    That is ANY INCIDENTS. This is not true and so it is false (or at best misleading) advertising. It strongly suggests that you do not need to do anything besides use Rx to protect your system and data. There is nowhere a recommendation to use an imaging program in conjunction with Rx or to backup critical data. The marketing hype has been softened from previous statements which stated specifically that you did not need anything other than Rx but the implication is still clearly there.

    You say you are concerned about the end user, you say you have influence in the company, can you effect wording that will point out what customers need to know to properly protect themselves or not?

    Sure DC6 will enable this and the marketing will change to cover this issue when DC6 is finally released but that will not show any change of basic philosophy at HDS just a shift of focus from selling one program to selling 2. The prevailing weakness of Rx will be used to push Rx users into buying DC as well as Rx. Change the statement on your website before the release of DC6 and maybe I will believe what you are saying about how HDS has changed, otherwise its all smoke.
     
  9. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    UK
    I use more than one imaging software for backup....To be fair NONE of them warn me that their backups can fail its not in their interests to reveal that....Most here know that they can and do fail...Those that don't and have been unlucky to have a failure of a backup learn the hard way....Computer problems are a bit like real life, a learning curve.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    clubhouse1,

    Failed restores haven't been my experience. Excluding the UEFI restores I did recently, I can only recall one failed restore, about 10 years ago. And that was to a HD that failed an hour later so it probably shouldn't count as a software failure.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    Overall I probably have close to 1500 restores under my belt from extensive beta testing. One failures I had was with beta's

    Also clubhouse1 name one imaging program that itself failed due to windows updates or other software,hardware issues
     
  12. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    853
    Early on when I was learning the concept of backups and how to implement them I had a few failed/backup restore operations. I attribute it to my mistakes, poor choices of software, not doing things the right way, and learning curve. And asking too much of the software I was using at the time.

    But times have changed. In the past 20 years I've not had one problem. I also follow the minimum, unspoken, and time honored rules of 2 copies on 2 different media - and also testing and verifying my procedures to ensure they make sense and work.

    Over the past 10 years I've done several recoveries to my personal systems. Both partial and full. And you know what? Each one worked perfectly. Never lost a bit. I'm not bragging, but rather emphasizing, the importance of doing things the right way.

    If you've never done backups I implore you to do so. If you don't know how then learn. Or get someone to teach you or do it for you.
     
  13. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    This is exactly it. The software is a tool, and you need to know how to use it.
     
  14. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I'll just say this.....:shifty: If Murder was not a crime, and Misleading a Person was punishable by Death..:shifty: Then every Employee at HDS would be Dead o_O
     
  15. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,131
    And its the publishers job to make the customer aware of how to use it.

    I am going to follow Froggies lead now and drop out of this discussion. Unlike you I am not being paid to talk about Rx.
     
  16. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  17. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,131
    OK, so please link to where these instructions are. I used Rx for about 5 years (dropped it when 10 was imploding at its first release) and the only place I found information on how to use the product safely was here on Wilders.
     
  18. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    I have been a RBrx user since 2006, starting with v7.0. There can be no arguement that RBrx 7.0, 8.0, 9.0 and 10.0 were all 'disasters waiting to happen' and I have been on my bandstand pleading for some semblance of Quality Assurance practices from HDS. I even had to plead with Kurtis and Sam at HDS regarding their Exec's decision (since retracted) to prematurely release DC6 before it was ready.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2015
  19. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Well...this was primarily an internal discussion. I don't like the idea that our company all thinks alike. Sam and myself, and a few others knew this release date wasn't going to happen. I mean, members on the forums definitely were there to back us up, but it was primarily an internal decision still.
     
  20. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,131
    Just wondering if systems with Rx installed still take extra long to boot. This was one of the things I did not like about Rx during the period I was using it. Has this been eliminated with the current version?
     
  21. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,052
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    BG, in my recent "playing" with it once again (preparing for BETA work), the delay is really not noticeable. Of course I didn't have a ton of snaps in place at the time... I'll know better as I get into this testing.
     
  22. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,131
    Thank you
     
  23. NCP

    NCP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Posts:
    22
    Shoot, if RBRX could indeed save a computer from ANY UNFORESEEN INCIDENTS, it would have gotten my 400 gb of data back. Simple as that.
     
  24. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    We know that it was a bit ridiculous before, we've done our best to fix it. Because of the nature of the software (where it's located, what it does) it's always going to be a bit slower then Windows bootup. Froggie is right though, we've made efforts to speed up the process. Call it extended time with the software, we're able to make it more efficient.

    What was this particular issue?
     
  25. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    It was this particular issue https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...fter-losing-files-from-last-two-years.374394/
    A thread in which you replied...
    here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...iles-from-last-two-years.374394/#post-2471053
    and here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...iles-from-last-two-years.374394/#post-2471662
    and here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...iles-from-last-two-years.374394/#post-2473113
    and here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...rom-last-two-years.374394/page-2#post-2473165
    ;)
    Panagiotis
     
Loading...