Re: error GMAL-04

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by eyes-open, Oct 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eyes-open

    eyes-open Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    721
    I fell foul of GMAL-04 error today - found this old thread which helped me out.

    Help, Can't Boot to other snapshots

    As that thread won't accept updates due to age - I'll add this bit of info to the database. My error was caused by one large .tib file (acronis backup) that I'd put there pending transfer. Removal of file was instant cure and all is well.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    I'd report it, as I thought Leapfrog had fixed that bug.

    Pete
     
  3. eyes-open

    eyes-open Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    721
    Preliminary report submitted to Raxco support.
     
  4. panda01

    panda01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    I also got the dreaded GMAL-04 for the first time this week.
    Haven't booted into many 2nd snapshot for a few weeks now and when i tried i got this error message.
    i am running XP SP2 with build 202 but updated to 205 to see if it helped (it didn't!).
    Found this thread and deleted some useful text files in the root - didn't help.
    What finally worked was disabling hibernation on my laptop which got rid of a 1GB Hiberfil.sys file in the root directory (have only got 9 files in my root now).
    Just thought i would add my experience to help anyone else.

    phil
     
  5. eyes-open

    eyes-open Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    721
    FWIW

    Once all was well, it was possible in my case, to re-transfer the file back to root and for everything to run normally.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.