RC1 keeps creating "Infected Items" in O2007

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Whissi, Sep 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whissi

    Whissi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Germany
    Hello,

    I configured NOD32 Antivirus v3 to delete infected items and not to move them into any folder (i did that with NOD32 v2 without problems).

    The problem is, that NOD32 AV v3 creates a folder "Infected Items", although it shouldn't use that. I can delete that folder, NOD32 will create it again within seconds :)

    That's a bug, isn't it?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Unfortunately, it is technically impossible to avoid that behavior.
     
  3. Whissi

    Whissi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Germany
    Why? In NOD32 Antivirus v2 it is possible and why shouldn't is possible to do it in v3, something like (logical)
    Code:
    // Check if we need to check if folder exists
    if (option.movetofolder)
    {
        // We need a folder, does it exists?
        if (!folder.exists(options.movetofolder)
        {
             // No, it doesn't... create one
             create.folder(options.movetofolder)
        }
    }
    
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2007
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Our developers informed me that the same behavior existed even in v2. It's really not that easy as you think, EMON first checks all messages in the infected folder before the scan starts. If the same message has already been scanned it won't be scanned again. The folder is created on access by EMON.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.