Raxco Instant Recovery - Comparisons

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Peter2150, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    Let me think about this one a bit.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    If I understand what you want you have a setup with IR with two snapshots. You also have another image, and you want that to be the 2nd snapshot. If I am correct here is the way I would do it.

    The only complication is licenses. You have have to uninstall to free the license a 2nd time.

    1. Restore the image that doesn't have IR, and you want to use as the 2nd snapshot. Install IR on that setup. Then create use IR to create and archive on an external drive.

    2. You may have to then unistall IR here to free the licnese.

    3. Restore the image that already has IR snapshots.

    4. Restore the archive you created from the other setup, into snapshot COPY.

    Note if you initially uninstall IR from the image with IR in it, be sure to just uninstall, do not delete the data.

    Questions?

    Pete
     
  3. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    Pete, I do not think IR has problems with licences; unless they changed something that I am unaware of.

    Since you already have an IR archive perform the following (similar to Pete's approach with less steps).

    - Restore the Image that does not have IR on it.
    - Install IR
    - Since it does not allow you to create an empty snapshot, Initiate a secondary snapshot update/creation and then stop it as soon as it starts the copying process (and if you want rename it). You will see that it has a question mark which means that is in an inconsistent state.
    - Now, restore the archive that you already have from the previous setup, to the inconsistent snapshot and you are ready to go. (remember to create the archive for the new setup).

    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
  4. enonod

    enonod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    UK
    Strewth! It worked fine but with some heartstopping. I am now up and running but with Raxco. Thank you both for your time.

    I have one further question... why can I not create an empty snapshot, it is permanently unavailable and my system is Windows 8.1 Standard/Basic so no encryption or compression?
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    Hi enonod

    I am not sure. Hope fully Panagiotis will be able to give you an answer.

    Pete
     
  6. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,077
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Why would one want to do that?
    Acadia
     
  7. enonod

    enonod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    UK
    Surely if one wanted to install an OS into it, while other snapshots were already in play?
     
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I guess you could run WIN 7 or 8 on the Primary snapshot and WIN 10 on the secondary snapshot provided you have enough disk space on your C: Drive.:cool:
     
  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    Are you sure that your OS partitions are not encrypted?
    What is the difference between disabling BitLocker Drive Encryption and decrypting the volume?
    Disable-BitLocker
    Clear-BitLockerAutoUnlock
    Get-BitLockerVolume
    http://docs.raxco.com/instantrecovery/Topics/Notes_about_Microsoft_BitLocker.htm
    http://docs.raxco.com/instantrecovery/Topics/Command_Line_Interface.
    ----------
    edit: It seems that windows 8.1(all versions) automatically activate drive encryption, see here for details
    http://www.howtogeek.com/173592/win...rives-by-default-everything-you-need-to-know/

    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    Can't do that right now. Currently IR won't work on Win 10
     
  11. enonod

    enonod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    UK
    Thank you for that information pandlouk and obviously your time putting it together.
    I read fully the most important article (IMO), in your edit, from howtogeek.
    Whilst it was a revelation that Basic Windows also encrypts, I followed the menu list as described and could find no reference to encryption on the Settings Info sheet and it looked exactly like their own image shown, which 'oddly' also does not show encryption (for those wishing to see what they are looking for).
    My system was purchased from HP end of 2013 and it must have been around before that so maybe it is too early as suggested in the article. I do log on via Microsoft account so maybe I should change that just to be absolutely sure (which I am already if it does not show up in Info).
    [EDIT] I have now seen a screenshot showing encryption, and mine definitely does not have it. I now don't actually need it at present (due to your assistance) and so it is academic (until maybe I do).
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2015
  12. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    You 're welcome.

    you should send raxco a support request about this one, maybe it is a bug that needs to be fixed.

    Panagiotis
     
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    The etherlands
    @Peter2150: In the AppGuard thread you suggested I also include Sandboxie in my setup. As a user of Sandboxie, Raxco IR, and I believe, also Shadow Defender, can you in a nutshell explain the pros and cons of each, when you would use each one, and if and how they overlap? Maybe I should be doing more research myself - but you are actually using all three?
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    Hi Paul

    Give me a bit of time and I will respond a bit later.

    Pete
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Certainly no rush :) Much appreciated.
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    Hi Paul

    Lets start with Sandboxie. It is my first line of defense for the internet. I run all browsers Sandboxed. I don't run Outlook sandboxed, but Appguard covers that.

    Raxco IR, as has been stated, it is a little slow, takes up space, but, it is ultra reliable, does what it promises. Also Raxco support is top draw when it comes to support.

    Shadow Defender shadows the system, and discards all changes on reboot. For me the big pro here is reliability and also the fact I can protect all 3 of my internal drives

    The real key is how I use them together, and it has changed.

    Until recently if I wanted to test a piece of software, IR was the backstup. But that has kind of been replaced by Macrium v6. Why. Simple time. With IR, time to update an archive is about 3minutes on my system. Restoring system back was about 6 minutes. With Macrium image update is 1 minute. Restore time about 2 minutes. So why do I still use IR. Simple on a couple of bumbling occasions, I have lost images. Then having an image helps, especially when you can come back to present with IR.

    Shadow Defender comes into play when I do something at that might put my system at rick and I want to protect all my drives.

    Hope this helps, and feel free to ask more.

    Pete
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Thanks for taking the time Pete. Will be installing SBIE on my 8.1 machine, and going through the 'Getting Started' guides. I may indeed seek your help (on another thread) if I have any compatibility issues ... I see there is known issue with AppGuard ...
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    What are your refering to re Appguard
     
  19. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Here but this is not pertinent to this thread ...
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    Oh. You need c:\sandboxie added to user space with include = no
     
  21. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    The etherlands
    I think you meant include = yes if these previous posts are anything to go by? (As well as setting c:\sandbox to Exception under Guarded Apps).
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    Yeah, you can set it to yes, and for the most part everything works. Unless you need to execute something from c:\sandbox, the yes is fine, and probably a bit more secure than no.
     
  23. kennyboy

    kennyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    404
    Question for Pete2150

    Just been reading the pdf User Guide for IR. Came across the following:-

    "For example, if you are going to use
    a drive imaging program to make an image of your system disk, the Pre-boot must be
    disabled before the image is made otherwise the image may be unbootable.".!!!!!

    Is it really the case that the Pre-Boot must be disabled before imaging? Cant remember the old FDISR having this issue with imaging.

    If this is so, it would screw my Daily scheduled imaging with Macrium V5 completely.

    As I know you use Macrium and IR, would be grateful of your thoughts. Have had no response from Raxco over this and several other issues which is surprising.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2015
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,298
    Hi Kennyboy

    With Macrium, IFW, and SP you have no problem imaging with Pre boot on. However with Windows Imaging, and also Acronis that isn't the case. So you should be good to go.

    Pete

    PS should have added, no problem with AOMEI either.
     
  25. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,077
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Heh, I can vouch for Peter, at least for some of the mirroring programs. With Macrium and ShadowProtect, no problem, can leave the pre-Boot of IR enabled. But with the built-in Windows ... PROBLEM, don't even think it, turn pre-Boot off BUT, remember to turn it back on when you're finished. Never used the other programs mentioned.
    Good luck,
    Acadia