Raxco FD-ISR on a Mac?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by silver0066, Jun 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    962
    I do not like the bloat in Vista. Will the old version work from Raxco work with XP on a Mac?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,009
    Depends on the file system. Is it MS's NTFS?
     
  3. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    962
    Hi Pete, I am not sure. I am thinking about getting a new notebook in the next month or two and I have not looked into the Mac file system. I just know that you can run XP on a Mac. I was not aware that you had to use a different file system. I didn't even think of that. Can you run XP on a Mac using NTFS? Silver
     
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Macs use the HFS+ filesystem. You can run XP in a Mac using VMs or BootCamp. Only VMs allows you to use NTFS as the filesystem.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    As far as I know, these two are the only ways to run XP with OSX( VM or BootCamp). Am I true?
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2008
  6. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    That's correct :)
     
  7. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    962
    Thanks Lucas, Is VMs the same as Vmware or is it something different? I already have VmWare's Workstation.
     
  8. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
  9. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,205
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  10. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    962
    Thank you. I will look into these VMs.
     
  11. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Excuse my ignorance, but I always thought that when using Bootcamp Windows would be installed with native NTFS in it's own partition?
     
  12. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    I don't know. The Wikipedia article about BootCamp didn't give me that impression (native NTFS in its own partition)
     
  13. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    From the Bootcamp Setup Guide:

    bootcamp.png

    I realize that the boot record of the partition might be different and incompatible. I would not know that. But I think that I would give it a try if I had a Mac.
     
  14. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Thanks wilbertnl :) So, NTFS is available in BootCamp.
    That's another possible problem.
     
  15. Rata

    Rata Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Two cents worth... from a newbie

    Yes.. You can run XP, Vista on a native NTFS partition on the latest Intel Macbooks.

    Problems with boot record.. The first issue is the disk (a 2 1/2" SATA drive on the Macbook Pro) comes formated as GUID (or GPT: same thing). This is a new standard to allow much larger disk sizes, and is not compatible with the boot record found in a MBR disk. The disk can be switched to MBR and formated with Vista's version of NTFS but limits access to Mac OS install.

    I too want to get ISR working on a mac (cf: recent post) but having a few problems.

    Bootcamp.. is really two things; 1) a boot manager and 2) a set of device drivers to allow a windows install to access the apple hardware (keyboard, wifi, camera etc...)

    ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.