Raxco FD-ISR on a Mac?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by silver0066, Jun 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    I do not like the bloat in Vista. Will the old version work from Raxco work with XP on a Mac?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Depends on the file system. Is it MS's NTFS?
     
  3. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Hi Pete, I am not sure. I am thinking about getting a new notebook in the next month or two and I have not looked into the Mac file system. I just know that you can run XP on a Mac. I was not aware that you had to use a different file system. I didn't even think of that. Can you run XP on a Mac using NTFS? Silver
     
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Macs use the HFS+ filesystem. You can run XP in a Mac using VMs or BootCamp. Only VMs allows you to use NTFS as the filesystem.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    As far as I know, these two are the only ways to run XP with OSX( VM or BootCamp). Am I true?
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2008
  6. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    That's correct :)
     
  7. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Thanks Lucas, Is VMs the same as Vmware or is it something different? I already have VmWare's Workstation.
     
  8. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
  9. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  10. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Thank you. I will look into these VMs.
     
  11. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Excuse my ignorance, but I always thought that when using Bootcamp Windows would be installed with native NTFS in it's own partition?
     
  12. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    I don't know. The Wikipedia article about BootCamp didn't give me that impression (native NTFS in its own partition)
     
  13. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    From the Bootcamp Setup Guide:

    bootcamp.png

    I realize that the boot record of the partition might be different and incompatible. I would not know that. But I think that I would give it a try if I had a Mac.
     
  14. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Thanks wilbertnl :) So, NTFS is available in BootCamp.
    That's another possible problem.
     
  15. Rata

    Rata Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Two cents worth... from a newbie

    Yes.. You can run XP, Vista on a native NTFS partition on the latest Intel Macbooks.

    Problems with boot record.. The first issue is the disk (a 2 1/2" SATA drive on the Macbook Pro) comes formated as GUID (or GPT: same thing). This is a new standard to allow much larger disk sizes, and is not compatible with the boot record found in a MBR disk. The disk can be switched to MBR and formated with Vista's version of NTFS but limits access to Mac OS install.

    I too want to get ISR working on a mac (cf: recent post) but having a few problems.

    Bootcamp.. is really two things; 1) a boot manager and 2) a set of device drivers to allow a windows install to access the apple hardware (keyboard, wifi, camera etc...)

    ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.