RANSOMWARE

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, May 15, 2017.

  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,221
    Location:
    USA
    Just curious. If one should be hit with ransomware in an OS older then XP, would one be able to to boot into Safe Mode and have it work as it should. This has probably been asked :(
     
  2. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,276
    Thanks, Pete. When I make an image it takes over an hour. How do you do it so fast? I
    Jerry
     
  3. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    6,452
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I might have missed it myself if it had.

    Just curious too. Looking at your smiley is it happen to be on a Windows 98 system by chance and it wouldn't be one of yours?
     
  4. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,221
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I would like to know about Safe Mode. As far as Smiley, don't know...I just used my keyboard symbols and let this website do the rest. You have ME wondering now.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,985

    I am using Macrium Reflect. what are you using.
     
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    6,452
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    It's a good question because if Windows 98 Safe Mode is disrupted by a ransomware variant the next step to access it would likely have to be from a boot disk.

    When I dealt with Windows XP I sometimes couldn't get it to boot up i found using a Linux Mint to access the operating system was simple as pie and it was a piece of cake to overwrite corrupted Registry files with Registry Backup Files manually. That's when there was no backup image to turn to.
     
  7. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,221
    Location:
    USA
    Good information. My first concern is getting into Safe Mode after being hit with ransomware on an OS older then XP.
     
  8. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    Location:
    Italy
  9. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,221
    Location:
    USA
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,639
    Pete do you have the free or paid version?
     
  11. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,279
    Location:
    USA
    You need the paid for incrementals. It's well worth the money.
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,639
    I've always meant to pick this up. I have tried the free version in the past and it worked well. Thanks.
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,985
    Yes I have the paid. It's an imaging program and a snapshot program all in once
     
  14. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,276
    I use whatever is on the sysem from the Control Panel.
    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  15. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,276
    Hi again Pete,
    I think I will try the free version. Is it straight forward to use?
    Thanks, Jerry
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,639
    Awesome. I may pickup the paid version if I can find a discount somewhere. Thanks.
     
  17. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    I strongly second the recommendation of getting Macrium Reflect. I have the paid version which is very powerful but easy to use. It has been a lifesaver a few times for me. I am not really a computer power user and Macrium has really helped me a few times when my testing of various software has gone poorly. I run a few incremental backups a week and it is great to have the ability to clean up problems by restoring to one of those images. I hope to never have to deal with a ransomware infection but know that I will be able to handle it easily thanks to this software.
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,985
    I think so but I may be biased. Fire it up and if you have questions post in the macrium thread you will get help
     
  19. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,276
    Thanks, I very much appreciate your help.
    Jerry
     
  20. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,276
    Hi Pete,
    I thought I would try the free version of Macrium Reflect, but I am about as smart as a stump
    I quickly get to a screen that says
    "Select Source (Drives) and IMAGE DESTINATION." On that screen is "Destination Folder."
    Folder.
    I am unable to get past that to continue.
    What goes in that block? I want to put it on an external hard drive, but can't find how.
    Any help? ANYONE?

    I GOT IT ))

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,985
    I gather you just figured it out.
     
  22. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,276
    Yes, I got it from browsing as it showed on a u Tube, even it was the same as I typed in. At least I thought it was.
    Thanks for the help.
    Jerry
     
Loading...