Randomize filename

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Konata Izumi, Apr 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    I forgot to randomize PrevX filename during install....
    which means less protection from malware targetting.

    Q: Is there an option to randomize filename after install?

    Q: does prevx have two separate processes normally? (refer on the screenshot)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    First Question probably not, reinstall is the only way with this version http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=prevxcsirnd :doubt: and the Second Question Yes there are 2 processes! I personally don't randomize Prevx filename because I'm very secure with what I use and have some common sense when it comes with unknown files! And by the looks of your signature you are very well protected! :thumb:

    HTH,

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    As TH has said, you cannot randomize post-installation. You'll need to uninstall and reinstall to get the randomized filenames applied.

    Yes - this provides self protection and support for limited user accounts :)
     
  4. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    I only have one prevx.exe process running. o_O

    Edit. Ignore me. I found it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.