Random Seed Generation

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by n33m3rz, Mar 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n33m3rz

n33m3rz Registered Member

So I can find a lot of algorithms for random number generation (blum blum shub) but as far as seed generation goes that is much less documented. Of course a PRNG depends a great deal on a very random seed. How does this algorithm sound for random seed generation, using whirlpool as the hash function?

Go easy on me please, this is the first time I tried to design a random seed generating program so if I made any naive (or retarded) errors keep in mind I never said I was a pro ;-) (or mentally competent!)

Breakdown: The user is initially asked to randomly hit on their keyboard and hit a button called "Finish Initializing Seed" after they are done. Each time they press a key the microseconds between the key press (and initialization for the first key) are logged and stored as a string (B1, B2, B3, etc). After the user has hit random keys on the keyboard for a while, they hit the "Finish Initializing Seed" button and provided they have hit at least 50 characters, the string of characters they entered is whirlpool hashed, and then the resulting hash has (B1, B2, B3...etc) added to it and this is then also whirlpool hashed to get the initial seed (Z).

Breakdown: In this stage the user is presented with a large box in which they are to move their mouse around. They must move the mouse for at least thirty seconds and click the mouse button at least fifty times. Every microsecond, E (first value being Z) + the current X-Y mouse coordinate is hashed with whirlpool to result in a new E. This process continues for the duration of this stage.