RAM program?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by truthseeker, Aug 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Hello, Is there is a good and accurate and reliable program that runs on Vista that will tell me how much RAM programs are using and how much RAM is not being used?
     
  2. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Just use the Task Manager!

    For a bar graph of usage-try TClockEx,but not certain it will run under Vista
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    It's useless thats why I am looking for a third party program.
     
  5. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Thanks, tried it, but not what I am after. Any other suggestions?
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    truthseeker, I haven't tried this particular program but I've heard some people talk about it. It's called PC Lighthouse 2.5.0 and here are some screenshots.
    Let's see if this one does what you are trying to achieve. If not, I'll step aside for someone else to advise you.
     
  7. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Thanks, but I have just learned that Advanced Windows Care that I am using has a section that tells me how much RAM is being used.

    But it doesn't tell me what every program uses.
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    So, PC Lighthouse doesn't report that particular sector you are looking for then?
     
  9. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Yeah I think it does at bottom under "memory"

    I can even sort programs from highest to lowest.

    It even has a Start up Program Manager.

    Thanks. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2008
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    As you work with PC Lighthouse, keep us posted because the info could benefit other Wilders visitors as well. Take care.
     
  11. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    What do you mean? Is PC Lighthouse a spyware, trojan or something?
     
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    No, I meant that the program seems to have a lot of other features, besides what you were looking for, and as you put it through its paces, share that info with all of us. Likes, dislikes, etc.

    I originally stated that I had not personally tried this program because I don't have your needs, but others might and your info could be priceless to them.
     
  13. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Hi,

    Look on Process Lasso for : CPU % ; CPU average ; Priority class ; Working set size ; Commit size etc. - for each process !
     
  14. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    I guess windows own taskmanager is all you need,like Hairy already mentioned. To me its not useless,i can't remember how but there advanced options(hidden ?) to show graphs for most processes.
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Task Manager in Vista is more sophisticated as you can access Resource Monitor/Resource Overview/Memory which has a detailed list of everything running in Vista.
     
  16. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Ok gotcha. :)
     
  17. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Perfmon in XP ? ;)
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    process explorer?
    link
     
  19. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Is an excellent prog. I always replace task manager with Process explorer, though I use XP
     
  20. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I agree with this. Aside from telling how much memory each program uses, Process Explorer can also tell you a program's DEP/ASLR status, among other things.
     
  21. Jacee

    Jacee Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Posts:
    4
  22. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    You can add more columns to Windows Task Manager's process list. Look under the View menu for Select columns...

    I always add Prio Task Manager extension as well for more features.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.