RAID support

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by martinlest, Dec 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. martinlest

    martinlest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Having read what came up in a forum search, I conclude that True Image will not create images and restore partitions which are part of a RAID system. Is this so, or have I got it wrong somehow?

    Thanks!

    Martin o_O
     
  2. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Apparently, it does support RAID from within Windows. And it will also work from the Rescue CD, provided your SATA RAID control is supported. At least, that's my understanding. Hopefully the Acronis support can elaborate cause I think this is an important issue.
     
  3. martinlest

    martinlest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Yes, I hope someone from Acronis can explain in more detail, as you say.

    Martin
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Acronis True Image does support ALL RAID controllers under Windows (providing they are supported by Windows itself). Also we support a wide variety of controllers when boot from Acronis Bootable CD. I can suggest that you download the trial version in order to make sure your hardware is supported.

    Thank you.

    --
    Ilya Toytman
     

  5. "Provided they are supported by windows itself"---what exactly does that mean, Ilya? Sounds pretty glib. From my experience, and from what I've read in this forum, Acronis True Image supports some RAID controllers, certainly not all of them. And using the trial version to test your hardware is laughable; it may allow you to create an image, but it won't allow you to actually restore that image. And there's the rub---being able to restore an image you've created. I can make images of my NVRAID drive which I can then verify; but those images have as much chance of being restored as a frog in a blender.

    I think your mouth is writing checks that your software can't cash.
     
  6. berndk

    berndk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    The software definitely has a problem with a nVidia nforce3 Raid 0. The boot cd doesn't recognize the raid, it shows all logical drives twice! And the last thing I want to do is to patch the linux on the boot cd.
    Regards
    Bernd
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.