RAID-1

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tim Martin, Oct 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tim Martin

Tim Martin Registered Member

Is there a RAID expert here?

I have used Acronis True Image V8.0 and more recently V11 Home. And, I have plenty of experience backing up and restoring using my Boot Rescue CD to single hard disks (typically boot drives). Now I have a couple of RAID-1 systems to worry about. And, the boot drive is this RAID-1 drive.

I would like to run a test by making a backup of a RAID-1 system and then swapping out both hard drives to perform a recovery to two new hard drives.
    So, should I expect this to work? When I made the Image Backup, Acronis only saw a single logical hard drive as expected.

In my experience, the BIOS controller for the RAID array will format the disks when I replace them and boot up the BIOS. I guess this is because it sees a different serial number, etc. When I re-install the original hard drives, will it do this again? Thereby re-formatting the original hard drives that I am pulling as a safety backup? This could put me with no working RAID-1 system.

The RAID controller is some sort of Intel product in a new Dell Precision T3400.

Tim

2. MPSAN

MPSAN Registered Member

I have an older Intel ICH5R and have used TI9 to convert from RAID0 to RAID 1. I had some issues later on with what I thought was a bad drive and swapped drives and did a reformat. A TI9 restore worked fine.

At least this all worked for me. I use XP Pro SP3 and did this using a Reatogo CD (BartPE).

3. Tim Martin

Tim Martin Registered Member

Re: RAID1

To answer my own question, here is how it worked out: