RadialPoint suite beta?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by acr1965, Feb 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    never heard of it. :doubt:
     
  3. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    131
    a very good suite ;) tested and work very nice with xp sp2 (4 process and about 15mb in memory )

    antivirus ( i think kaspersky engine 5 ) + antispyware +proactive detection ( i think by sana )+ firewall + teneup+ backup+ popup bloker+script blocker+ etc

    ps : not compatible with other antivirus like avast and avira
     
  4. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    131
    another thing the firewall was strong ( for me :p )
     
  5. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I'm guessing the antivirus is Authentium. I didn't do any search to see who this is.

    In the knowledge base, I found this entry, in case you needed to reinstall the antivirus engine. This is the 3rd step.

    A list of programs will appear. Select any entry containing Authentium and click Remove.

    Overall, from what I read, it sounds like a pretty good setup, very similar to Sana Security. I'm thinking of ditching my security programs on my desktop and giving it a run.

    This is called a beta program but is mentioned in a couple of places as an upgrade. Plus, skimming the license agreement doesn't mention a time limit, or anything about it shutting down at the end of the beta test period. I checked their forum, but it's virtually empty of posts right now.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i tried this one before my ex-internet service provider included for free;) is fast and ligth:thumb:
     
  7. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I've been doing some snooping. Can't resist trying something new, since I have an extra computer to play with now. I've seen some complaints that it "appears" on a computer without warning. All those people who've made the complaints though are with ISP's who use Radialpoint - Comcast, Verizon, Windstream, among many others. Radialpoint is a Canadian company, one of the top 50 in Canada.

    Looks like I've got some entertainment for later in the evening - after GhostHunters.

    *edit* I did see mention of a 365 day limit, but this was on Version 6. From what I gather, the current is Version 8. No info on a cutoff that I've found.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    after ghost hunting?are you a ghost hunter?cool;)
     
  9. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    We do some ghost hunting. The wife has some really spooky pictures she got while we were at an old house near here, and at the little town cemetery. I've never seen a thing but, hey, it's fun.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    cool no wonder your nick is chuck:D(chucky)
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ugh Chucky, creepy, that doll kid terrifies me :eek:
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i know:) :D
     
  13. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    My wife and I saw a couple of the Chucy movies. We laughed all the way through them.

    I downloaded this program, by the way. Very light on my XP Pro sp2 computer, 512RAM and 1.8 Athlon. So far, in the few hours, no complaints. I haven't really gotten into the program, but it doesn't look like it gives many options for configuration. That kind of figures since it's one of those things an ISP will give to a customer or, in our case with Windstream make you pay for it.

    That's about all I can say right now. The AV is in fact Kaspersky, not Authentium, which is a big plus in my book. Sana's Safe Connect handles the antispyware and other things. Not sure about the firewall.

    Fairly decent package, from what I've seen. Also, no information on whether it times out after the beta. This is Beta 1. I'm sure there will be more following.

    *EDIT* Okay, the firewall, like the av is Kaspersky. The antivirus, by hovering the pointer over things says file version 5.0 and AntiHacker says file version 6. Both have 2008 dates with them.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  14. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    If anyone has any other comments I would appreciate hearing them. Screenshots would be cool too.

    thanks all for the info
     
  15. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
  16. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  17. illicit

    illicit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    91
    If this is the same RadialPoint I am thinking of, they are a Managed Security Services Provider. This security suite powers the managed (free) security offerings you see from a majority of the ISPs.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.